Genealogy: John Lovel (1185-1252)

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive. You can see the index here.

This is another individual that is far enough back that the only way you'll find him in a family tree is if there is a royal relationship somewhere. John Lovel was likely one of the Barons who rebelled against King John in the First Barons' War (1215-1217).

According to Gramps, John Lovel is my second cousin twenty-three times removed. I can also see that he is a direct ancestor on my Mother's side but I'm not sure why Gramps isn't seeing that. Maybe that is further back in terms of the number of generations that Gramps is looking.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I use other programs to generate reports/web pages. GenoPro has this ability also but I don't like the format of its reports as much. Gramps is open source software for Windows, Linux and MacOS that I have been using to generate static HTML reports and is what the info you see below is based on. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above. I've also been exploring GedSite, a program that takes a gedcom file and converts it into html, and The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding which is web based and requires a setup with a web server, PHP and mySQL. Mostly I've been playing around with TNG which is excellent but I'll get back to GedSite eventually.

I actually like TNG enough that I have contemplated just using that as my only reporting software. However, there are a few reasons why I probably won't. First, it's "closed source" commercial software whereas Gramps is open source. Second, Gramps generates pure HTML/Javascript so that it is easy to copy and move around whereas TNG relies on having a database and web server. Finally, it's easier to extract data out of for adding here, for example. While I have been using GenoPro and Gramps for many years, I've only started using TNG and GedSite within the last year or so.

The chart at the top is an ancestry chart out to four generations from Gramps. The chart at the bottom is the same thing but as produced by TNG. The index of all individuals I have posted so far can be found here.

The Skaggs-Files

Lovel, John

Birth Name Lovel, John
Gender male
Age at Death 67 years, 11 months, 22 days

Narrative

JOHN LOVEL, son and heir, a minor at his father's death, whose wardship was granted to Alan Basset. In 1216 his lands were forfeit, presumably for opposition with the other Barons to King John; and again in 1223, for refusal of the aid due from him in the Welsh war; but he accompanied the King in 1224 to the siege of Bedford Castle. He married, before August 1216, [----] daughter of Alan BASSET and Aline his wife. He died before 23 December 1252. [CP 8:214]

http://wc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=GET&db=stolp&id=I923

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth 1185     1
Death 1252-12-23     1

Age: 67y

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father Lovel, Williamabout 1150about 1213
Mother , Isabelabout 1150
         Lovel, John 1185 1252-12-23

Families

Family of Lovel, John and Bassett, Katherine

Unknown Partner Bassett, Katherine ( * 1195 + 1231 )
  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
Lovel, John12221287-09-27

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2022-05-06 17:50:59


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency