Genealogy: Henry De Champernon (1156-1211)

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive.

This is an entry in my family tree that I have found to be particularly uncertain. The single source provided here has been fairly reliable but if I look for this individual on Family Search he is attached to different parents. But then their parents are linked to themselves as parents. Clearly something isn't right. It can become difficult to track down the right sets of parents/children when names are often reused and dates are less than exact and this seems to be an example of that phenomena. The obscure documentation of the time, name variations in that documentation and other factors make research difficult. As a cousin relationship I'm not as interested as if this were a direct ancestor so I'll let someone else try to figure out that mess and check back later :). However, when going back this far, you'll find a number of individuals who fall into this category.

The above chart is an ancestor chart from Gramps out to four generations. Not that I consider this relationship particularly certain (or at least not entirely accurate), Gramps calculates this individual to be my...well, looking out to 27 generations it still didn't find a relationship and gave up. At any rate he is some cousin many times removed.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I use other programs to generate reports/web pages. Gramps is open source software for Windows, Linux and MacOS that I have been using to generate static HTML reports and is what the info you see below is based on. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above. I've also been exploring GedSite, a program that takes a gedcom file and converts it into html, and The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding which is web based and requires a setup with a web server, PHP and mySQL. Mostly I've been playing around with TNG which is excellent (except for maybe the awkwardly long name) but I'll get back to GedSite eventually, really I will. I actually like TNG so much I have contemplated to just using that as my only reporting software. However, there are a couple of reasons why I probably won't. First, it's "closed source" (though by its nature you can of course see and modify the source) commercial software whereas gramps is open source. Also, Gramps generates pure HTML/Javascript so that it is easy to copy and move around whereas TNG relies on having a database and webserver.

The index of all individuals I have posted so far here.

The Skaggs-Files

De Champernon, Henry 1a

Birth Name De Champernon, Henry
Gender male
Age at Death about 55 years

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth about 1156 Ilfracombe, Barnstaple, Devonshire, England    
Death 1211 Manor of Clyst St. George, Clistwick, Devonshire, England    

Age: 55y

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father De Champernon, Henryabout 1119
Mother Isabelabout 11251218
         De Champernon, Henry about 1156 1211

Families

Family of De Champernon, Henry and de Tracy, Rohese

Unknown Partner de Tracy, Rohese ( * about 1165 + 1237 )
  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
De Champernon, Sir Oliverabout 11851232
De Champernon, Joanabout 1190

Source References

  1. Michael Neuman: http://wc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=GET&db=clcaldwell&id=I9330 Caldwell and related families
      • Source text:

         

        ID: I9330
        Name: Mabel De Gloucester
        Sex: F
        Birth: ABT 1100 in Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England
        Death: AFT 1170

         

         

        Father: Earl of Gloucester Robert de Pitres b: 1074 in Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England

        Marriage 1 Seigneur de Camberon Jordan De Champernon b: ABT 1096 in Cambernon, Manche, Normandy, France
        Children
        Has Children Jordan De Champernon b: ABT 1121 in Ilfracombe, Barnstaple, Devonshire, England
        Has Children Henry De Champernon b: ABT 1119 in Ilfracombe, Barnstaple, Devonshire, England
        Has No Children Richard De Champernon b: ABT 1123 in Ilfracombe, Barnstaple, Devonshire, England

      • Citation:

        e-mail: michaelneuman@earthlink.net

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2022-05-06 17:40:42

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency