Genealogy: Geva Hamalant (903)

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here with the goal of eventually creating a linked family tree on Hive. You can see the index here.

Geva Hamalant was born in or around 903 if this source is to be believed. This is yet another individual that was born so long ago that they have to have been related to royalty. I don't think there are any records for your average peasant going back that far. But as I've mentioned before, if you are alive today and you are descended from Europeans, then you almost certainly have a member of royalty in your family tree somewhere. The only question is whether or not you can find them.

This is too many generations back for Gramps to count, however, I can tell looking at the Genograms that this individual is a direct ancestor through the mother of my grandfather on my father's side.

I use GenoPro to maintain my family tree but I use other programs to generate reports and web pages. One of those programs, Gramps, is open source software for Windows, Linux and MacOS that I have been using to generate static HTML reports and is what most of the info you see below is based on. I also use its relationship calculator functionality as noted above but I've found it only works back to about 27 generations give or take. I've also been exploring The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding (TNG) which is web based and requires a setup with a web server, PHP and mySQL. I also have GedSite which also generates static HTML reports that I will dig into more eventually.

While Gramps is free, both TNG and GedSite are commercial software so you have to pay for them. I think their price is perfectly reasonable and they are both excellent in their own ways. However, I prefer the open source nature of Gramps and the fact that it generates static HTML makes it easy to work with. I like TNG enough that I will probably keep using it also though. I'll remain undecided on GedSite until I get back to trying it out more though I've liked other sites I've seen generated with it.

The chart at the top is an ancestry chart out to four generations from Gramps. The chart at the bottom is a descendant chart generated by TNG also out to four generations. The index of all individuals I have posted so far can be found here.

The Skaggs-Files

Hamalant, Geva

Birth Name Hamalant, Geva
Gender female
Age at Death unknown

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth 903 Egmond-Binnen, Noord Holland, Netherlands   1a
Death        
Event Note

B: Abt. 903
P: Egmond-Binnen, Netherlands

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father of Hamalant, Meginhard II840898
Mother
    Brother     of Hamalant, Meginhard III 870
         Hamalant, Geva 903

Families

Family of Holland, Dietrich I and Hamalant, Geva

Unknown Partner Holland, Dietrich I ( * 900 + 939-10-06 )
  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
of Westfriesland, Matilde920
de Gand, Wickmann I920973-12-14
of Holland, Dietrich II938988-05-06

Family of Vermandois, Gerberge and Hamalant, Geva

Unknown Partner Vermandois, Gerberge ( * 939 + ... )
  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
de Hollands, Hildegarde961

Source References

  1. Gary Lewis: http://wc.rootsweb.ancestry.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?op=GET&db=garynlewis1144&id=I003572
      • Source text:

        # ID: I003572
        # Name: Gerberge (Geva) De Hamalant 1
        # Sex: F
        # Birth: ABT 903 in Egmond-Binnen, Noord Holland, Netherlands
        # Death: 11 JAN in Egmond-Binnen, Noord Holland, Netherlands 1
        # Reference Number: 87NX-CK

         

         

        Father: Meginhard II De Hamalant b: ABT 840

        Marriage 1 Theodoric II (Dietrich I) Of Holland b: ABT 900 in Noordwijk-Binnen, Zuid Holland, Netherlands

        * Married: ABT 905

        Children

        1. Has Children Wickmann (Wieman) I Of Gand b: ABT 920 in Gand, Flanders, Belgium
        2. Has Children Matilde Of Westfriesland b: ABT 920
        3. Has Children Dietrich II Of Westfriesland b: 938 in Egmond-Binnen, Noord Holland, Netherlands

         

        Sources:

        1. Title: G1209.ftw
        Repository:
        Media: Other
        Text: Date of Import: Oct 22, 1999

         

         

      • Citation:

        e-mail: garynlewis1144@yahoo.com

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2023-05-14 23:01:56


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency