My family, back a ways

The Mayflower connection

General Society of Mayflower Descendants

Founded 1897
Anyone who arrived in Plymouth as a passenger on the Mayflower is considered a Pilgrim, with no distinction being made on the basis of their original purposes for making the voyage. Proven lineage from a passenger, approved by a Historian General, qualifies one to be a member of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants. – source

I don’t qualify.

However:

mayflower.jpg

You’ve probably already guessed: Sarah Wardell, one of my 2,048 9th-great-grandparents, was of the family that owned the goddam ship. Time for a

“General Society of Mayflower Owners” — ?

Oh, but it gets better:

salem.jpg

Did you know that the Salem Witch Hunt victims included men? Me neither. And there he is, one of my 2,048 9th-great-grandparents.

His son moved to Connecticut in 1735, where I was born over two centuries later.


Special thanks to Charles, husband of one of my two nieces, both named Amanda.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center