The Making of the #javin piece (Black Ballpoint Pen Art)

As an artist, one thing my art has taught me, is how to be patient. This piece right here is a 16x20 inches pen drawing done on paper, so much time was invested in it, and it eventually paid off.

Title: #javin
Subject: Joseph Nkanta
Medium: Schneider Black Ballpoint Pen and White Charcoal Pencil
Size: 16x20 inches
Artist: U-ROGA
Year: 2020

InShot_20200707_151057252.jpg
© Copyright 2020, U-ROGA

Check out my original post on my social media platforms:

Facebook
Instagram

As at 2018, I did a meme contest on my WhatsApp platform, and I promised the winner a portrait. Joseph won the meme contest and I was suppose to make a portrait for him that year. But I couldn't complete the first portrait I was making for him because of my busy schedule. As time pass, I got bored of the original drawing I was suppose to make for him (😂😂😂), but then, U-ROGA always pay his debts, so I told myself this year, I must pay my debt to Joseph by working on his portrait.

(Progress shot)
InShot_20200512_174333074.jpg
© Copyright 2020, U-ROGA

I messaged Joseph this year to ask him for a new picture, because for some reason I could not find the old picture I was working on. And then he sent the above referenced picture. When I saw the picture, I told myself I am going to have fun with the background, so, I started recreating the piece.

Progress shot
InShot_20200623_174023202.jpg
© Copyright 2020, U-ROGA

The title of the piece (Javin) happen to be Joseph's brand name, and I felt as the face of the brand, while not title the piece after him. Joseph actually is an amazing Tailor.

(Progress shot)
InShot_20200626_195841024.jpg
© Copyright 2020, U-ROGA

Practicing the Art of Patience as an artist is really important. I spend so much time detailing every part of this piece, like I will say Heart in a Art. I actually lost track of the number of days I spent with this piece and I was glad and I'm still glad the end product was amazing.

Final work
InShot_20200707_150856520.jpg
© Copyright 2020, U-ROGA

Please leave your review and also some words of advice if any, I love to grow and we all need each other to grow. Thank you!

#theurogaexperience

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center