April on the Farm - April 5, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

1.House.and.big.garden crop April.04.jpg

House and Big garden April 6, 2004

On Wednesday I set to work on the plant notes. I just had the seedling notes left to do. They are filed in groups (A -B, C-D, etc.) so I did a group at a time and made it up to P by noontime.

It was a dark cold day and a good project for inside. But I didn’t get any photos so I looked through my archives and found these of past Aprils. I didn’t have any on the computer prior to 2004 so I started there.

The magnolia tree is so tiny! And there’s still the atrium door on the front of the house and the old windows.

2.Front pasture crop April 07.jpg

Front pasture April 30, 2007

From running through the photos for each year it looks like if we were going to get snow in April in happened mid month. But mostly, it was just turning green.

3.Back 40 crop April 09.jpg

Back 40 and pasture coops April 2009

Tom was here and we got caught up on all our doings. He was “working from home” for the first time in a long while at his “office” here at the house.

4.Sunrise1 crop April 2010.jpg

Sunrise April 27, 2010

It was a sort of a surprise, 3 years down the road, the see photos of what the yard used to look like before the construction. All the big trees…

5.Green of spring5 crop April 2011.jpg

The yard set up for spring April 2011

The giant dance floor picnic table I still miss every year.

6.Clothesline2 crop April 2012.jpg

The clothesline April 3, 2012

I start hanging clothes out in April each year. I haven’t done it yet this year.

7.Storm2 crop April 16 2014.jpg

Snow on April 16, 2014

When we did get storms they never amounted to much and soon melted away.

8.Windowboxes crop April 2017.jpg

April 30, 2017

My husband had made me this long shelf under the dining room window and I’d plant windowboxes to go on it each year. Can’t do that anymore as the window is too high now.

9.Spring Day crop April 2018.jpg

April 28, 2018

We had no idea of the changes coming after this spring.

10.Rainy Monday2 crop April 2020.jpg

April 13, 2020

I had several photos of rainy days in April. This one highlighted the forsythia and daffodils well.

11.Rain3 crop April 2021.jpg

April 15, 2021

I liked how the magnolia photobombed the picture of this rainy day.

12.Along the driveway3 crop April 2022.jpg

April 12, 2022

This was the evening and the moonrise looking up the driveway.

I spent the afternoon trying to save vanilla beans that had started to mold and making chicken noodle soup for supper. It had mushrooms in it, @riverflows!

On Thursday I have both helpers here. I plan to get my new glasses, do some shopping and errands early with my general helper, then head out to the workshop and see if we can finish it up. My helper friend comes at 11:30, just before my general helper leaves at noon.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center