INDIGENOUS PLANTS IN MY GARDEN 1: THE DWARF CORAL TREE (Erythrina humeana)

DSC00145.JPG

The dwarf coral tree is a medium-sized deciduous shrub with multi stems producing scarlet flowers on flower stalks that reach out above the foliage. The blooms with their rich nectar attract a wide variety of birds of which the Sunbird is my personal favorite. The dwarf coral tree is indigenous to South Africa occurring in grasslands of the Eastern cape, Kwazulu-Natal (KZN), Mpumalanga and Limpopo provinces. It also occurs on the Mozambican coast. The featured plant is from my own garden in KZN.

The dwarf coral tree is ideal for small gardens and also does well in pots.

DSC00146.JPG

DSC00147.JPG

Source Credit: https://kumbulanursery.co.za/plants/erythrina-humeana

The photos are my own, taken with my Sony Cybershot camera.
This article was also uploaded on Weku today under my handle of @sea-cottage

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now