Tiny Garden Update V






It has been exactly month since the last tiny garden update. Oh my it is getting colorful here! Flowers are finally starting to bloom and if I sit in absolute silence and listen, I hear the sweet sound of bee humming all around again. Some people are concerned about the harvest this year, because of drought and hotness. Indeed, some things are not growing so well due to lack of rain, but so far I can’t really complain. Maybe it is just the selection of plants I chose this year.

There were maybe two weeks of rain in June. Of course snails showed up and weeds went wild. Both battles were won. Now it is the peaceful, meditative maintenance phase of lightly going over the spoil once it is too pressed down from watering. Usually around second part of the day, when the conditions resemble less of a sauna and right before mosquitoes go on hunt.

I’ve gathered bunch of herbal tea from meadows and now also some chamomile and peppermint from my tiny garden. It also seems about the right time to harvest lavender. You can have a sneak peek of that process here. I will probably show off my dried collection a little later.



Marigolds. I was hoping for them to show up a little sooner to plant them all around my tiny garden since their scent is repelling some pests away. Unfortunately timing wasn’t right this time.




Zinnias surprised me with all the different colors.












Thyme. I am still impressed how much this plant has grown in size. It is a decent thyme bush now.





Yellow bell pepper still very green.






Red chilli still very green as well.






Tomato plants barely can hold all the tomatoes. Great year for tomatoes it seems.







Green and purple. Tomatoes and basil complement each other not only in your salad bowl, but also in the greenhouse.






Asparagus






Green basil. They say that flowers should be cut off to keep the plants longer. Probably will do that soon.






Purple basil






Mighty pumpkin and potato. Funny story. These grew by themselves in the compost pile from old potatoes and old pumpkins thrown there. Pumpkin is taking everything over and seems to enjoy the rich compost soil. Perfect spot.






Peppermint is forming these fluffy flowers.




Two different types of parsley









Lettuce survived the snail invasion attempt.






Green beans






Dill. Just sow some more dill, because these are almost done.






Peas





Some strange wildflowers






Spinach. Just waiting for the seeds to be ready and then there should be more of spinach. Yay!






I rebuilt the lavender cage since the plants demanded more space. Are you still wondering why I keep my lavender in the cage? Haha. I am so, so happy about my first harvest! Going to experiment with some soap making soon and mmm should try lavender tea!








Pretty sweet, right? I enjoy the simplicity of working in the garden. The clarity, calmness and fruits it provides me with. It is so rewarding in many aspects beyond of what’s visible to the eye and what’s placed on the table at the end of the day. So grateful.


Song of the day: Phil Collins - In The Air Tonight (2015 Remastered)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center