This Morning in the Polytunnel - Gardeningchef

Hello!

The heat has truly arrived here in Spain: 30 degrees (celsius) is the current norm so I am keeping an even closer eye on my plants to make sure they are kept watered and happy. I took some photos in the polytunnel this morning to share the progress with you all. I hope you enjoy!


190618-01.jpg

190618-02.jpg

190618-03.jpg


190618-04.jpg


190618-05.jpg

190618-06.jpg

190618-07.jpg


190618-08.jpg

190618-09.jpg

190618-10.jpg

190618-11.jpg


The peppers are taking their time to produce (lots of flowers but they keep dying off) so I am lucky to say I have 5 peppers growing right now. The pointed pepper variety seems to be finding it harder but as you can see by the first photograph, I have been blessed with one at last. Equally, my plum cherry tomatoes are finally showing. I am loving the pattern on the fruit.

A few days ago I applied a bug repelling soap spray on all the plants in the poly, including the smaller newer plants like my cucumbers. As you may be able to tell the soap has burnt their poor leaves in places. I was trying to save them from bugs, not realising it would hurt them. Despite that I think they will survive.

Let my mistake be a warning: DO NOT apply soap spray onto growing baby plants!

My lemon cucumbers have finally sprouted in the root trainer (the third and last of the cucumber varieties) so I shall be transplanting those soon. I am debating putting them in a pot outside to see how they do.

The gourmet basil is slowly growing in size, my row of leeks have finally sprouted, the Hamburg parsley is working its way up, and the spinach is developing further. I was hoping for a more voluminous amount of spinach but I am mainly just happy to see it growing!!

That's all for now. I hope you liked this post, feedback is greatly welcomed. As always please link me to your latest gardening posts so I can check them out :D

Gardeningchef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center