Birthday Bromeliad & more - Gardeningchef

BD06.JPG


Hello all,

It's my birthday today! This lovely bouquet of flowers was picked for me straight from the garden this morning, a beautiful birthday gift. We enjoyed a slice of delicious, home made carrot cake for breakfast - not usual breakfast food but when its my birthday I have to treat myself!


BD01.JPG


Yesterday we went to the market and there was an eye-catching potted plant stall that I hadn't seen in previous weeks. After looking at the selection on offer I came away with a Vriesea splendens - otherwise called Feather of India. Happy birthday to me I thought!


BD04.jpg

BD03.JPG

BD05.JPG

BD02.jpg


The Vriesea is part of the Bromeliad family, native to Tropical America. There are more than 200 varieties of Vriesea, known for their long-lasting flowers.

Research tells me the Vriesea is an indoor plant, and must stay out of direct sunlight to protect the leaves from scorching. Interestingly the best way to water it is by placing the water (ideally filtered, bottled or rain water) directly into the cup shape in the center of the plant, not into the soil as you would with most plants. This is a way of mimicking how rain water would fall naturally into the plant in a rain forest. If treated incorrectly it can go years without flowering, so I will endeavour to do all the right things to keep the flowers coming.


BD07.JPG


The hibiscus bush is flowering today, I can see more buds ready to pop so it will be full of flowers any day now. I love the garden in Autumn!

I hope you are all enjoying your Sunday, wherever you may be!

Gardeningchef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center