Greenhouse update, 5-25-19

Hello, steemians! Welcome to da greenhouse, eh!

A couple of days ago, I finally picked up the last of the tomato plants that I wanted to have in the greenhouse. I bought 3 Amish Paste variety tomato plants, and I also decided to try one plant of a variety called Jersey Devil. Apparently, that is supposed to be what is called a sausage tomato, more cylindrical than round. It will be interesting to see how the tomatoes from that plant turn out.

Today was a good day to work in the greenhouse, so I decided to put the tomato plants into the big pots.
Here's a look at what I'm working with in the greenhouse. You can see the new tomato plants up on the work bench at the far end of the greenhouse.
DSCN1063.JPG

I decided to move 2 of the tomato plants, San Marzano variety, that were already in the pots to the outside, in a raised bed so that I could put the Amish Paste tomato plants into the big pots. Of course, I had to dig the San Marzano plants out of the pots. I did them one at a time.
DSCN1067.JPG

DSCN1068.JPG

DSCN1069.JPG

DSCN1071.JPG

The San Marzano plants got replanted in the raised bed.
DSCN1072.JPG

At that point, I had to mix more dirt to fill the last 2 pots in the greenhouse. I mix vermiculite into the potting soil to keep it a bit looser. After filling up one of those last 2 pots, I planted the third Amish Paste tomato plants in it. Now I have the 3 Amish Paste plants next to each other in the row of pots.
DSCN1073.JPG

There was one pot left to plant, and I put the Jersey Devil plant into that pot. Then I finished putting together my irrigation pipe and put in the rest of the tomato cages.
DSCN1075.JPG

I have all of the greenhouse pots planted now.
DSCN1076.JPG

The list of tomato plants in the greenhouse is now 2 Early Girl plants, 3 Amish Paste plants, 3 Roma paste plants, 1 Jersey Devil plant, and 1 San Marzano plant.

The other tomato plant starts that I have will go outside sometime in the coming week, as I get to it. I have more plants than I need, I think.
DSCN1065.JPG

I also have a few non veggie plants in the greenhouse for the summer, just because. The third one down is the new catnip plant.
DSCN1066.JPG

That's all I have for this greenhouse update, I hope you found it interesting!

amber banner.png
banner2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center