A start to my garden!

Spring is showing signs of springing and I can't wait to start my garden. I have been experimenting with a few different ways to start my seedlings. I have been interested in hydroponics and aquaponics for a while. Curious to see how this would work, but without the funds to buy all the commercially available equipment. I looked around to see what I had that might work to try these methods. I took some little cups, put holes in them on the sides and bottom, filled them with some beach stones I had on hand. I planted some of my germinated seeds in them, and set them in a reclaimed container filled with water. I also used some styrofoam food trays to make floating seed beds. I punched some holes in the styrofoam trays to place the germinated seeds on. I then proceeded to place these floating seed beds in a container filled with water. The final experiment was to plant some seeds directly into used tea bags. Here are some pictures to show the progress so far.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center