I Picked Some Persimmons For My Mom

Image0230[1] cropped.jpg

This year it seems like I have a heavier crop of persimmons. The kind of persimmons that come from my tree are astringent. Meaning if eaten too early they will have a pungent taste.

The other type of persimmons are the non-astringent types that can be eaten when still crunchy. I would like to have a persimmon tree of the non-astringent type too. Maybe I can grow a dwarf non-astringent persimmon tree.

My mom likes to take the persimmons that come from my tree, slice them and dry them. A lot of people really like the persimmons dried by my mom. She likes to give them away as Christmas presents. I like them too.

So I picked a couple of bags of persimmons for her today. I will give her more later on.

The process of drying will take away its pungent taste and make them sweet. They are great snacks and they have lots of fiber. Also drying the persimmons are a great way to store them.

I also like to eat them ripe. When fully ripe they are very soft, mushy and sweet.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and comment.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my trusty flip phone and cropped with Microsoft Paint.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center