My Adventures in Mabinogi: part 5

My Adventures in Mabinogi: part 5



source

part 1
part 2
part 3
part 4


Hello Steemians and gamers alike!

Sorry for the delay, this is coming to you guys later then I had liked it too, I’ve been having some time constraints which have prevented me from putting up posts in a manner which I’d like. Before I get into the next part of our Mabinogi series. I’d like to briefly bring any of you who’re joining us for the first time up to speed.

Mabinogi is a mmo anime style game. There are a lot of components that make this game unique, a lot of which I’ve yet to cover. In my past posts I’ve talked a bit about combat, how it works, and what you can expect in regards to fighting in the game. I have also covered my impressions of the main story which Mabinogi is well known for, having a thoughtful and well fleshed out story. So far it’s turning out to be just that and a lot more.

We have also talked about the visual style of the game and I’ve given my thoughts on how I feel about the graphics and the overall art style. In addition to that I’ve shared a lot about general gameplay so far up to this point. I’ll continue to share my adventures with you guys in hopes that new, or pre-existing players of Mabinogi will consider playing or picking up the game again!


Today’s post is special, I’ll be covering two things which I’ve spent some time trying to learn and I feel really make this game stand out from other mmo’s.

As a new player you’re given a certificate that allows you to create your own homestead. At the time this was something I completely ignored as I didn’t really know what that meant and honestly seeing the fancy certificate in my inventory was a little daunting as there were no indicators as to what it was or what it did. After reading about the quest, “Claim Your Homestead” it made more sense. Since then I’ve dived headfirst into the realm of homesteads and oh boy, let me just say WOW!

In Mabinogi homesteads serve many purposes. Everything from showing off all the cool things you’ve received during your adventures, or items from the cash shop, all of which are cosmetic. They also serve as a way to preform life skills as well. On homesteads you’re able to place an assortment of usable objects, if you’re a tailor or a blacksmith you can have all the necessary equipment needed to preform your life trade skills.

I apologize for the lack of pictures, or rather pictures of cool and really awesome homesteads. You’re unable to visit homesteads unless you’re friends with a player and assuming that player has a homestead claimed. At least that’s how I understand it. You can access other player homesteads through your friends list which you right click on and choose, “enter homestead”. I don’t know of any other way of entering a homestead as of this point.

To enter your own homestead you need to either click the homestead button on the bottom menu or press the U key which opens up the homestead menu. From there you can choose to enter homestead which takes you to your current home. I also do not know of any way of changing the location of your homestead. I believe this is permanent once you pick where you want to live, choose wisely!

In any case, I’m hoping one day I’ll be able to show you my homestead when it’s in a better state of affair!

When you initially set up your homestead you’ll get to choose where you want to place it. In this case you have three options. Where you place it will determine the look of your homestead and the style of buildings you can place on it. On the continent of Uladh, players who place their homes here will be grassy and feature human style buildings. The only thing that deviates style wise are the appearance of the land and the buildings you can place in it. In Belvast, the homestead will be snowy and the structures are made of ice like igloos. Like the ones you see in Belvast. Lastly in Iria, homesteads will be sandy while the buildings mimic the style of the Elvan city Filia.


On your homestead you’ll also notice a pile of rocks. This is an important feature. Mining it will yield you a certain amount of homestead stones once a day. You’ll need to log in after every server reset to collect homestead stones.

Homestead stones are used in creating objects on your homestead. Higher level buildings and objects require more materials the higher level your homestead becomes. You’ll have to search the world for these materials, gather them, or buy off other players.

I haven’t spent a lot of time trying to build my own place other than a few crops which you can see in the photo above. Crops are one of the few ways which you earn Krons on your homestead. Krons are the equivalent to experience your character gets while leveling up. The more Krons you earn, the higher your homestead level gets.

Leveling up your homestead will not only increase the land size on which you can build, but it will also allow you to unlock more things to create and put on it. In addition to Krons there are also Pons. Pons are the cash shop form of currency which you can spent on homesteads. I haven’t had the chance to look into that yet. I’ll likely do a whole separate post explaining how the games cash shop works.

In order for you to crow crops you need to get seeds. There are a few ways which you can acquire seeds, initially after setting up your homestead you’re given strawberry seeds to grow which are the easiest and take the least amount of time. Then there are other seeds like pumpkins and cabbage which require more time to grow. Seeds can be found while looting dungeons or obtained through part-time jobs which you can get as a part of a daily quest from various npc’s throughout the world.

Seeds can also be found while in the shadow realm I believe, but I’ve yet to confirm this myself as I’ve not visited the shadow realm yet!


This last bit of my adventure I want to share with you guys today is about commerce! The entire time I’ve been playing Mabinogi I had no clue that you could do commerce in the game. Commerce is a method in which any player can buy special goods from an npc traders. These are located outside of all major towns.

Every trade good that can be bought fluctuates in price depending on the demand of each good. You purchase these with ducats which are a different form of currency specific to this game feature. What I found most neat about this part of the gameplay is that players can travel the world trading items with other traders while also making gold on the side as well. After you arrive to the destination you’re sending your goods the turn in rewards give you gold and experience.

It’s not as good as the shadow realm I’m told, but still it’s a nice alternative for those of you who’re not interested in combat and dungeons.

When you buy trade goods you’re limited to the amount you can buy. At first you’ll only be able to lug things on foot with a special backpack that is limited by the amount of weight you can carry. All goods you buy have a weight associated with it as well as their value. When you buy the goods a trade window is shown and you can see all the locations which you can send your goods. The further the distance, the better the profits. Sending goods to places that are shorter distance can be risky. Each in-game-day that passes, the price will change and sometimes can result in you loosing profits.

So far I’ve yet to experience any significant losses, however I haven’t chosen to send goods in short distances. One thing to note, Elves have an advantage when it comes to early trade leveling as Elves have the fastest move speed in the game. Making it easier to lug things on their back from one place to another.

That concludes part five, as always I hope you guys enjoy and if you have comments or suggestions fill free to let me know in the comments bellow!


Stay tuned for more

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center