7-Day Favourite "This and That" Challenge: Day 3 - My Favourite Game

Hello everybody!!!

Today I'll be talking about my favourite game. To be honest with y'all, it wasn't as easy as it may appear to pick just one since I love games (of any kind) too much. I always did! 

Additionally, the fact that the way I defined the themes was a little too broad - Game: It can be a video game, a board game, a mind game, a sport, a hobby, you name it - made things even harder as I didn't know which game to pick really.

To begin with, I loved practicing and watching martial arts/combat sports from a very, very young age. Then, at the age of nine I discovered tennis and I fall really hard for it. In the meanwhile, video games was an absolute love at first sight for me and I am proud to say that I've probably spent thousandssssssss of hours (millions of minutes) playing them; actually I still do from time to time. 

So, taking into account all the aforementioned facts I decided to pick the one game that I've probably loved the most during my lifetime (so far): Street Fighter II. Why? Well, it combines my two absolute favourites: martial arts and gaming. 

Source 

See, when it was first released I was 11 years old. My love for combat sports and video games was in its prime, while my love for Bruce Lee and Jean Claude Van Damme films was about to reach its climax. Man...THIS GUY :)

Source

Needless to say that the vicious virtual fights against other obsessed fellows ended up in real-life fights, where we tried to copy and paste the moves of Ryu, Ken, Sagat, Vega and Zangief (among others) who's still decorating the walls of my room. 

The first dude with the Herculean beard is Zangief 

For those who may not be familiar with Street Fighter II, we are talking for one of the greatest video games in history. It was released for arcades in 1991 and a year later it was ported to the Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES) console, for which it became a longstanding system-seller.

By 1994, Street Fighter II had been played by at least 25 million people in the United States, at home and in arcades. The console ports sold more than 14 million copies worldwide, including 6.3 million copies on SNES, making it Capcom's bestselling game until 2013 (when it was surpassed by Resident Evil 5) and their bestselling game on a single platform.

Source

Adjusted for inflation, all versions of Street Fighter II are estimated to have exceeded $10 billion in gross revenue, making it one of the highest-grossing video games. The success of Street Fighter II is credited with popularizing the fighting game genre and sparking a renaissance for the arcade game industry.

Source 

It appears on several lists of the greatest video games of all time, with one of them being a list I wrote for American Express, which has been read by more than 5,5 million people in less than a year. You can check it out by clicking here: 20 Video Games That Changed Pop Culture.

The Rules

- Choose one of the themes each day and explain us why it's your favourite.
- Post a picture of it. It can include you if you like ;)
- Do this for 7 days in a row if you accept the challenge.
- Nominate up to three people each day.
- Tag it with #favouritethisandthat and include the themes that one can pick from.
- I keep this one from the previous challenge, so please follow @greek-trail for great content made by my fellow Greek steemians ;) 

The Themes You Can Choose From 

Decade - Game - Movie Character - TV Series - Website - Public Figure - Monument 

Today I nominate whoever wants to participate in the challenge.That's for today folks. Thanks for reading, voting and supporting my blog. 

HADOUKEN :))))

Source 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now