RE: RE: How to be a female gamer surrounded by dudes
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to be a female gamer surrounded by dudes

RE: How to be a female gamer surrounded by dudes

My boyfriends favorite quote to exclaim is "I made you in a computer!"; I have other aspects that he adores, but one especially is my love for gaming. Throughout my years of gaming I have found that yes, girl gamers do gain more attention than our male counterparts - however, it's usually not in a good way. Not only have I been berated by men of the gaming community, but also by women of the gaming community that get "salty" over the attention I receive from the men that I play with.

Obviously men experience the backlash of fellow gamers, but I would argue that it occurs in a much less harsh way. The first things out of the mouths of my male counterparts is never hard to predict .... "I bet you're fat", "You're dumb", "Shuttup Wh**e", etc.
I believe that as the number of girl gamers increase, we will see more of an embrace for girls in the gaming community.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center