šŸŽ® To Game or Not to Game?

Publication1.jpg

I have been thinking recently about the effect of computer gaming on peopleā€™s personalities and the perceived perceptions around the subject.

Now, I am by no means a regular gamer! I would call myself a sporadic or binge gamer. I am also a PC gamer and can go whole months without even thinking of double-clicking any of those familiar desktop icons.

I must admit that steemit has had a lot to do with this hiatus in my gaming activities. It is not that I donā€™t think about, say GTA 5 for instance, now and again. I just havenā€™t had that drive to click and lose myself in that online world of gangsters, CEOā€™s and biker gangs. I have never been addicted to computer games but I have friends who are for sure. You know the type of person I mean, they get grumpy if you talk to them while they have the pad gripped in their hands, or constantly make excuses to stay in on a sunny day. Although I have never needed my gaming time in this way, I do understand the compulsion. There have been times when I simply want to stay in and get that end of the day stress release from something that asks nothing back but your focus.

Which brings me to my second thought. It seems that perceptions, especially among the older generation, is that gaming is bad! Bad for concentration, bad for your health - ok I canā€™t really argue against that last one ā€“ and, well just bad for you all around. However, I have noticed that in the periods where I game regularly it can actually improve my mood, energy levels and concentration to a certain extent. Over the last few months I have been dedicating a large part of my spare time to Steemit and I in no way regret this, as the quality of my writing has improved with the regular routine. However, I have noticed peaks and troughs in my energy levels. After writing a blog, formatting with markdown, general editing and grammar checking; I find myself somewhat drained and just want to veg out in front of Netflix for hours while constantly checking if my post has attracted any visitors šŸ˜‰

800px-TV_highquality 4.jpg

So, to answer my own questions I am going to conduct an experiment starting tomorrow. I will play one or more of my four favourite games (as and when I feel like it) each day for 5 days and note down the effects in blog posts on steemit. Will this increase my productivity? Well, yes this is a bit of a self-fulfilling prophesy as I am adding a new subject to blog about, but I donā€™t know whether my creative blog posts will suffer as a result, only time will tell. I certainly have no intention of stopping my poetry and narrative-driven posts. Will my concentration improve? Will my Netflix binges decrease? Or will I descend into a frenzy of gaming, oblivious to all else?

I suspect that the results will be positive! The older generation may argue that gaming is bad for you but I think it is like anything else; a variety of activities and moderation are the key to a happy and creative mind šŸ˜ƒ

Below, I will outline the 4 games I have chosen to nudge me back into the love of PC gaming and explain why I have chosen them.
divider-1024.png


GTA screen 5.jpg

Grand Theft Auto 5

Grand theft auto 5 needs little introduction it is the game that keeps on giving, even if you have completed the single player like myself they are constantly releasing new material to the online version of San Andreas that can keep you hooked for hours. I have chosen GTA 5 as my only online gaming choice as I love the competitive element and relative simplicity of GTA 5 online. You can choose to race land, sea and air against other players, or join elaborate missions called Heists. I have chosen this game for the collaborative, social aspect of the game. If there are positive connotations to gaming surely this is one of them. In an increasingly virtual work environment, the ability to seamlessly communicate to complete tasks is essential.


Screenshot-DyingLight-6.png

Dying Light

Open world, full-on zombie smashing, mouse key mashing, parkour chases across rooftops followed by terrifying nighttime pursuits from mutant zombies. Need I say more! This is an action game, through and through, and one that literally has me leaning back in my chair sometimes. I chose this for its pure adrenalin inducing qualities. I am curious to see how the exhilaration and quest based problem-solving aspects of this game affect me and my energies/moods. Will I crash and burn after the full-on action of this game?


wingsuit 7.jpg

Steep

I just love this game! As a former skateboarder and overall adrenalin junkie, I find it hard to beat hurtling down the side of a mountain on a snowboard at 50 MPH or flying through the cracks and crevices of a glacier while wing suiting your way through airborne markers. This game can be very difficult/frustrating at times as you have to try endlessly to complete the insane challenges. I like this aspect of steep, although not on the same level as games such as the Dark Souls series, this level of difficulty makes it all the more satisfying when you eventually get there. After threading your way through 17 tiny cracks in a crevasse while hurtling at 90 mph in your wingsuit, after only your hundredth attempt, the satisfaction is immense. I would argue that these types of video games actually foster a level of doggedness in young players that can stand them in good stead in their future working lives.


ABZU 8.jpg

Abzu

Abzu is simply the most beautiful game I have ever played. There are simple puzzles to complete throughout your journey through the undersea world but itā€™s not the defining factor in this game's appeal. It is simply spellbinding and I completed it in a single night when it first came out. As a scuba diver, I can say it is most definitely not an accurate reflection of a human's underwater adventures at our current level of technology. It does, however, fulfil a myriad of scuba diving fantasies; such as leaping from the waves with a school of dolphins or hitching a ride through the deeps on the dorsal fin of a great white shark. Abzu is my, sit down at the end of a hard day with a sigh, game. One for pure relaxation!


divider-1024.png

All images are free to use please follow links to check sources: Image 1 Image 1 Image 2 Image 3, all other images were taken from my desktop computer or in-game as screenshots. If you have enjoyed this blog post check out my other work @raj808. Check back in regularly to see the results of this experimentšŸŽ®

divider-1024.png
Resteemanim.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center