Rescued this Shiny Magikarp and hatched a Shiny from an egg

thumbnail.jpg

Today I was playing a while before we would take over the Houten Schip Gym. I was already in the neighbourhood walking around catching some Pokémon. When I clicked on one of the Magikarp to catch it, I was pleasantly surprised to see a Shiny Magikarp in front of me. After catching it I immediately turned around and went to the water spot near the city hall. Which gave me the idea to take a picture there which looks like the Magikarp was left after all the water was drained and that I then rescued it. Cause this time of the year they have all the water removed out of there for winter. And it is indeed a pretty awesome picture!

Shiny Magikarp encounter.jpg

The first time I caught a Shiny Magikarp was apparently 2 years ago in January as well. I evolved that one into a Gyarados a long time ago and will likely keep this one as Magikarp. It's really been a long time between the first and this second Shiny Magikarp encounter.

Magikarp and other red Pokémon spawn much more right now as part of the Lunar New Year event that is currently ongoing. Gyarados also have an increased spawn chance to increase chances for getting a Red Gyarados. So far I haven't been able to encounter a wild one yet despite higher spawns. As part of the event Minccino has been added through Field Research, so far I haven't been able to encounter one yet. Darumaka is now available through 7 km eggs, I'll have to start getting some from gifts as I keep forgetting to open some when an egg hatches and then I get a new one from spinning Pokéstops.

One of the eggs that hatched today kinda caught me by surprise. I looked away after I clicked for the egg hatching animation to start. Then I looked back and saw Piplup, I clicked appraise to check its stats. They weren't good compared to my Empoleon, so I wanted to transfer it. Then I got a notification asking if I was sure I wanted to transfer this Shiny and I was like what?? Obviously I clicked no, and went to check and yep it was indeed a Shiny Piplup! The shiny is quite lighter than the regular Piplup, still a quite noticeable difference. I was just not paying much attention at all it seems ! XD Luckily there is this warning to transfer a Shiny. This is not my highest IV Shiny Piplup!

Shiny Piplup hatch.jpg

Have you encountered any Shiny Pokémon during this Lunar New Year event so far ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center