Magikarp Community Day

thumbnail.png

Ahoy everyone, it's been a while! My desktop died recently, likely a power surge occured and that likely destroyed the power supply. I've had to order some new parts and it took a little while for some of them to reply. From my phone it is a bit annoying to edit these photo's, like putting them together, etc, which is why I haven't been able to get them made to use in blogs. I guess that also made me not feel like posting, hence why it's been a while since I posted. But now that I have the PC running again, I feel like I'll be able to post some more again!

Yesterday the Magikarp Community Day took place. Since we still have social distancing and lockdown measures, in the game too, it was another play at home edition. Which means the Community Day was from 11 am through 5 pm local time, with Incense lasting for 3 hours and attracting more Pokémon.

This Community Day featured a 3x Catch Stardust bonus! Shiny Magikarp and Gyarados have already been in the game since a long time, so no new shinies with this event. Evolving a Magikarp in Gyarados during, or up to 2 hours after the Community Day, teaches Gyarados the exclusive Charged Attack Aqua Tail. Which could prove quite useful in PvP, but for Raids etc it's inferior to Hydro Pump.

I didn't start at 11 am, but quite a bit later. First I played from home a bit due to the blazing heat, but eventually decided to go outside a bit after 2 pm. I brought a drink with me to keep myself hydrated and usually tried to stay in the shade as much as possible to protect myself from the heatwave that's been going on these past few days. That way I could catch some more than from home, and also keep spinning some Poké Balls from Pokéstops, and still I was running really low on them by the end of the Community Day.

Once again you could buy a Community Day Ticket, this time for the Special Research: Making a Splash! The Special Research can be completed quite easily, especially if you already had a lot of Magikarp Candy. It gives some Stardust, XP, Magikarp Candy, 2 Incense, a Poffin, a Rocket Radar and some Silver Pinap and Golden Razz Berries. There were also 2 Magikarp and 1 Gyarados encounter. During one of the conversations with Professor Willow in the Special Research, he made this pun which made me laugh! xD

This pun XD.png

As with all previous Community Days, you could also obtain up to 5 Magikarp from Snapshot Photoboms. In Magikarp's photobomb it's seen splashing. I decided to take a snapshot of my Shiny Gyarados in the water, which makes it look like the Magikarp accidentally jumped out of the water and is splashing on the ground now. Here's that photo!

Magikarp Photobomb during snapshot.png

While I played from home a bit I already got a few Shiny Magikarp, then when I went outside to walk around a bit or sit around near some Pokéstops I got a few more. At one point I did go like an hour without a Shiny encounter, but after that I got like 4 within 15 minutes. I even managed to get two Shiny in a row sometime during the event! In total I managed to get 11 Shiny Magikarp this event, which is pretty decent for the amount I played. I already had 2 Shiny Magikarp and a Shiny Gyarados from before the event. You can see all of them in the next picture.

Shiny Magikarp list.png

As you can see, my first ever Shiny Magikarp, the one I evolved into Gyarados, is an 89% IV. None of the ones I caught during the event have higher IVs, so there wasn't much need to evolve any. Although I did evolve one of those I caught just so I could have a Shiny Gyarados with Aqua Tail in case I could make use of it sometime.

After 5 pm I traded some of the higher CP Magikarp as well, to see if I could get any better ones. From the trades, about 60 trades I believe, I got 2 Lucky Magikarp. Unfortunately their stats weren't so good so they weren't worth evolving for me. You can see them here.

Lucky Magikarp after event.png

I already had a 100% Magikarp in my storage that I caught a few months ago, as I may have mentioned in a blog post then. Because of the possibility to get an exclusive move sometime I decided to keep that one as it was the only 100% Magikarp I had. During the event I didn't find a 100% so it was time to evolve that one and teach it Aqua Tail! After evolving it, I also immediately powered it up to max level! You can see it as Gyarados, and the power up in this picture.

100 percent Magikarp evolved to Gyarados and powered up.png

How did your Magikarp Community Day go?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center