Indie Roundup #2: Dreamfall: The Longest Journey


Coming up at number two on my ongoing list of indie games is Dreamfall: The Longest Journey. I actually discovered it on a clearance shelf about 15 years ago and had no idea what it was when I decided to pick it up. Mostly I was anxious to try out a game on my then newly built PC.

The gamble worked out. Because it was a Game of the Year edition I ended up getting the first game in the series and a soundtrack in addition to the game. I played through the 10 or 20 hours of the first game before blowing through the significantly shorter second one. Some parts were tedious, but I blame this on the point and click genre more than I do on the game itself, specifically.

The game really pushes the limits of what was possible with the point and click genre. The truth is, the environments were engrossing and mood was alternatively terse and bright when it needed to be. I definitely remember the first game, The Longest Journey, being a little darker in tone than Dreamfall, however.

The basic premise is that there are two worlds, technologically driven Stark and magical Arcadia. The two are out of balance, and time is running out for a disaster that may spell doom for them both. Dreamfall follows several characters, each getting there own chapter with a story told from their perspective. There's Zoe Castillo, who searches for her missing boyfriend in Stark, April Ryan, who resists the Empire of Azadi in Arcadia, and Kian Alvane, who has been sent to assassinate her by the Empire.

You can pick up Dreamfall on Steam for about 20 bucks USD on Steam. The (very) long awaited sequel (which I have yet to play!), called Dreamfall: Chapters, is also available on Steam.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center