VIDEO GAME REVIEW // Saints Row

Title: Saints Row
Publisher: THQ
Game Series: Saints Row
Platform(s): Xbox 360
Genre: Action-Adventure
Mode(s): Single Player & Multiplayer
Release Date: August 29, 2006
Personal Rating: 4 out of 5

By the time I got my hands on this game, I had already played damn near every installment of Grand Theft Auto. So, for quite some time I wasn't familiar with any other free roam game at all. Starting this game up, I didn't really know what to expect, but it ended up being pretty much the same as GTA with some changes in the controls and different kinds of gameplay. I mean, you start the game joining a gain, the 3rd Street Saints and shooting up other gang members and taking over strongholds are mostly what you'll be doing. Other than the Saints, there are 3 other gangs in the city that you set out to destroy. For each gang you have to take down, there are 3 heads of your gang that are assigned to fight each gang. So, every time you start a mission you can expect to have one of the 3 of your fellow gang members to tag along with you.

Gangs And Their Colors:

3rd Street Saints : Purple
Los Carnales : Red
Vice Kings : Yellow
Westside Rollerz : Blue

One of my favorite things about this game was the Chop Shop gameplay. You can go to any Chop Shop on the map and each has it's own list of cars. You can accept a list and find and return each of these cars to the Shop whenever you happen to come across one. After returning the vehicle, you'll be paid a large sum of money and get the car added to your collection. I made sure I finished off every list at every shop, it made me enjoy the game much more than I expected. The only thing about this game is that it's a little corny compared to the stories that Grand Theft Auto have thrown at us. While I try not to compare some games to others, it's hard not to when both games are so incredibly similar. Saints Row is almost a more simpler version than GTA, a little more easier to control with a bit of a cliche gangbanging feel. All in all though, I loved playing this game and couldn't get enough of it. I definitely recommend you give this one a try!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center