What's the "Best" Way to Eat?

There are oh so many people out there giving diet advice. "You should eat carbs so that you get a great workout" or "you shouldn't eat any carbs because they're horrible for you."

Is there a best way to eat for everyone? Is there some universal diet that works for every individual?

No. There just simply isn't a best way for everyone to eat. Every individual has their own mechanisms for breaking down food and extracting nutrients.

A high-carb diet may work super well for person X, but a high-carb diet could be extremely dangerous for person Y.

Similarly, a low-carb diet could have perverse outcomes for person X or even person Y... But how do you know what diet is best for you? How do you figure out your own body/metabolism?

You absolutely and without a doubt have to try everything available to you. You have to experiment and you may even have to take notes of how you feel after eating certain foods.

After I eat something heavy in carbs - like toast or a slice of pizza - I feel like absolute crap. I feel fatigued and mentally clouded.

I feel like I could literally lay back and take a nap right there on the spot. That's because my body has an adverse reaction to carbohydrates. Carbs make me tired and sluggish, plain and simple.

That's why a lower carb diet has always proven better for me. I have less inflammation, more energy to workout, etc...

My life is just easier when I'm on a low-carb diet. But I have several friends who have tried low-carb and felt the exact opposite, they feel sluggish and tired after not eating carbs.

This phenomenon is the essence of individualism in dieting. Every body is different and it takes experimentation and reflection to figure out what works best for you.

So don't give up, keep trying different regimes and find the one that makes you feel in tip top shape!


What diet works best for you (if you've found it already)?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center