My personal Steem price ticker

I finally got around to progressing a project I started ages ago. I've posted about this before, but I had a Raspberry Pi Zero and added a Scroll pHAT display. This is a cool and fairly cheap display. There's a new version available with more LEDs. I had started writing some Python code to pick up data from the web to display it. The idea is that I have this on the shelf above my desk to show me useful information. I went for getting the local weather from OpenWeatherMap and Steem/SBD prices from Coinmarketcap. Each of these has an API to allow you to fetch all sorts of data. The weather one requires you to register, so my code does not include my ID.

The code is fairly simple. There is a library to control the display and then I just needed some others to pull data from the APIs and parse it. I did some on-line courses that helped me learn about how to do this.

This is a fairly cheap project to put together. A Pi Zero with wifi is £10, but you need an SD case, power supply and possibly a case. The newer display is £12. I could be running other things on the Pi as well as this application will only use a fraction of the processing power. I'll look into what else I can have it doing.

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency