Custom Coyote Bag

A gentleman I know was hunting and a coyote came trotting through the area scaring the deer away. The man shot the coyote and brought it to me. I was doing some leatherworking at the time and thought it would be nice to make something out of the pelt.

The animal turned out to be a coywolf, bigger and with a thicker pelt than a typical coyote.
The man later asked if I could make something for his wife as she had always wanted a coyote bag.

I was already using the pelt he brought me so I ordered another one through eBay from Colorado, making sure to order one that was big and robust.

First I found a bag of the design that the woman wanted and ordered it. Then I began carefully sewing by hand the coyote pelt onto the existing bag. I also ordered some heavy leather strap material and dyed it adding some nice hardware to it.

IMG_1816.JPG

IMG_1700.JPG
Muskrat bag I found much like my customer wanted

IMG_1819.JPG

IMG_1818.JPG
Leather straps with custom hardware

IMG_1815.JPG

IMG_1816.JPG
Finshed Coyote bag with Leather straps

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now