Need a laugh? - Funny things that clients have told us and that made us chuckle

Working as a Language Travel Consultant at a Spanish school in Panama can be monotonous, especially when you’ve been doing it for as many years as I have. Even though it’s an easy job, in a fun environment, we get the same questions over and over again, and have to answer them every time with the same enthusiasm as if it were the first. There’s nothing I haven’t heard or read before, and I could do it in my sleep.

Often, I even do other things at the same time, but hush, don’t tell anyone…

Every once in a while, however, we receive emails of people who do make work less boring. Sometimes they do intend to be funny, but often times they don’t, and some unfortunate typos will turn a sentence into something else completely.

  • Do you have a Bad and Breakfast? Yes but they're not so bad...

  • I am hoping to do the Group 4 coarse and maybe add a few private lesion’s to work on my medical Spanish. Outch, sounds painful!

  • Estoy yo solo, asi que me gustaria saber si es posible acoplarme a algun grupo para la sexcursiones (FAIL!) No sexcursions here, sorry!

  • As the date approaches, I am looking into how and when we will arrive in boxes. (instead of Bocas) We hope you arrive well and alive...

  • I've attacked the signed voucher as you requested. Poor voucher...

  • Sorry about yesterday, I was out of service most of the day. Aren't we all sometimes?

  • I'm interested in becoming apart in your Spanish course. Please keep it together!

Others just tell us strange stuff. At least I think it’s weird, and of course it made me LMAO

  • My daughter isn’t maturing as fast as I had hoped so we won’t be making this trip.

VV.jpg

  • I have lived in Spain for the past 9 months. My Spanish is slowly improving but I very rarely have the chance to Speak/Listen in Spanish I know, one so rarely hears Spanish in Spain.

  • I imagine the infrastructure (of Panama) very similar to Poland, except tropical. Sure! Also, both countries start with the letter “P”

  • I might have visitors (which I will pay for) Sounds illegal...

  • I don’t eat pork or turtle. Not that we were offering...

  • I am in urgent need of the name, address and telephone number to a spa in Panama City where Jasmine and I can relax and get beauty treatments done until it's time for us to take the night bus. I need a Keratin or Brazilian straightening for my hair. My hair is really important so a good referral is crucial. Yes m’am, we understand the urgency and how it relates to your Spanish program.

  • I can not afford expensive program fees, I am just looking for a shelter to sleep under as I want to spend most of my day out with the people. OK, so no Spanish course then?

  • PS. Don't tell me to look you up, or love you, on Facebook or Twitter, or any other social-media site. I hate them all, and I don't spend any time with them. I just send e-mails! Oh no! What about Steemit?

  • I have decided to send you this email as one human being to another. I really want to come to Panama to learn Spanish. It seems that every time I have just about enough money to come I am forced to spend the money. Yes, I understand how this may be a problem…

  • On the flight to Panama I learn the 100 most common spoken words in Spanish based on the Spanish subtitles of movies. That gives me already 50% of the used vocabulary! During the first week I learn the 300-500 most common words, which equals already 65%-80% of the language. I've never been good at math….

  • I am a 66 year old white female born and lived my whole life in Nebraska (USA). I am not involved with illegal drugs nor have I ever been in trouble with law enforcement. We didn’t ask for that much information, but good to know

  • My wife's Spanish is nowhere as good as mine and mine is pathetic. Ah that’s not very nice!

  • Can the host family provide transportation in case of an emergency, such as rainfall? I guess that qualifies as an emergency...

  • I would like to hire the Russian guy with the land rover to be my security guard. I have a lot to do in Panama and want to be relaxed. Sorry, come again ????

Willsmithcinfused.jpg

  • Is the washing machine at the house? How does it work without hot water? If I wanted to wash my face with hot water, is it ok to ask if I can boil some or is this insulting to local custom? #3rdworldproblems

  • I am currently a gifted high ability student attending King Drew Medical Magnet High School where I am pursuing my education to become a neonatologist. Written by a 14 year- old...

  • I have never used google video, but I want to try it with you (about online lessons) Sounds kinky!

  • P.S. Because I am moving house I may no longer have this email address after next week Yeah, we understand the pickle you’re in…

gmail.jpg

  • I would be willing to pay extra to stay with a more wealthy family with better amenities

igvotl.jpg

  • Are you certain that you all (Evelyne, Leslie, Christine, Emmanuelle) aren't really just one person answering all of my questions? Really, how many Travel Consultants could Habla Ya possibly have? I swear, I don’t have multiple personality disorder LOL

  • She is very concerned about the insects, especially in her accommodation. Can you let me know if in general there are insects that bite and cause dangerous infections? Or if there are bugs sucking blood? Well, a little bit, yeah…

  • Which bus is the midnight one? The bus that leaves at midnight.

  • Our children's safety is our top concern and we are a bit nervous about letting them out of our sight while they’re in class. Our teachers will keep your kids safe, we promise!

  • I apologize for much of the text of this email being underlined, but I have my keyboard set to Costa Rican Spanish. Damn Costa Ricans, always underlining everything!

  • I am fighting a fire in the mountains but will be back tonight or tomorrow to my wallet and will pay immediately. Priorities of firefighters...

  • I am contacting you today because I can not help but ask myself, "What is my purpose?" Currently, I teach second grade and I am one of the top teachers at my school with a leadership position in the near sight, but I cannot help but think that I have been put on this Earth to do more OK, I’m not sure how I can help with that...

images.jpg

Sometimes it’s simply due to a language barrier, and things start to sound a bit funny when you translate other languages literally to English.

I’m not mocking anyone, I promise, I’m just enjoying it and smiling a little =)

  • I am so happy If this language course will be true. It’s true, I promise!

  • We would learn in our own paste. Sounds messy…

  • Sorry for my retarded answer. Last week I was quite busy. Late, yes. Retarded, no =)

  • Here is my curriculum just in case you need employers have a nice day. I will keep that in mind.

  • Despite the fact I'm only 17 years old, I like to say English comes out very fluid for me. Too much information.

  • I would like to know how long can I stay in Panama without problems? That entirely depends on you!

I hope you’ve enjoyed these as much as I did, and if you smiled at least at one of them, you do have a sense of humor, congrats =)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now