RE: RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Mar 1, 2019
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Mar 1, 2019

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Mar 1, 2019

Hi @socky

Car : 1991 Nissan Cefiro A31
Engine : RB25DET
Gearbox : RB25 R33 Push type
Clutch : OS Giken Super Single (Rebuilt 2017 May) (Flywheel, pressure plate, friction disk, floater disk)

So the problem is that I have difficulty shifting OUT of gear (to neutral) everytime when I slow the car down, right before a stop or a speedbump. It feels like the clutch is still dragging even though I fully depressed the clutch pedal.

Sometimes I have gear crunching whenever I do quickshifting, not all the time.

Another symptom is that there's a time when my car is on tow, facing backwards so I put the car in Reverse gear to prevent the car from rolling down because of my weak handbrakes. After towing to my desired location, I tried to clutch in and push the gear back to Neutral (engine was off) The gear seems to be jammed no matter how hard I try. I tried clutching in and start the car and the engine can hardly start, like having a weak battery (suspect that the clutch is still engaged maybe 50 to 70%). After a few attempts on cranking the engine while pushing the gear out of Reverse I can suddenly push it back to Neutral.

Master cylinder, slave cylinder replaced in 2017. Is there any chance that it's an issue from the RB25 gearbox ? synchros? bad throwout bearing? pivot fork?

As far as I know gears are suppose to be interchangeable *to Neutral no matter which gear you are in, even when the clutch is not depressed, just need to add a minimal amount of force to shift out. For my case, it's totally jammed.

Trying to diagnose the problem without wasting money repairing on irrelevant items....

Before replacing the master / slave cylinder, I have difficulties going INTO gear. After changing them, and also oil change, I've been having this problem since 2018... which is totally the other way round this time

Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now