Real Letter of an Insured to the Judge... Fun Story !!

From: Workers' Compensation Mutual.
A: Eusebio González.
Subject: Clarification of Block 3.

In your accident you indicate in Block 3 "Poor planning" as the cause of the accident. Considering that the medical expenses exceed five million euros and that the hospitalization period exceeds six months, we would like you to explain a little more thoroughly the nature of your accident.

Sincerely yours: M.A.T.

From: Eusebio González.
A: Workers' Compensation Mutual.
Subject: Request for clarification of Block 3.

I write this in response to your request for additional information on block number 3 of the accident party. I put "poor planning" as the cause of my accident. You said in your letter that you should explain more in detail and I believe the following details will suffice.

The day of the accident was working alone in the upper section of my new antenna tower of 14 meters in height, installing an RS 232 connector for the modem of the base station. When I finished my work I discovered that I had brought, after several trips to the summit, more than 150 kilos of tools and materials. Rather than transporting the now unnecessary tools and material at hand, I decided to lower them into a barrel using a pulley that, fortunately, had placed at the top of the tower.

Securing the rope at ground level, I climbed to the top of the tower and loaded the utensils into the barrel. Then I went back down to the ground and released the rope, grasping it tightly to ensure the slow descent of the 150 kg of materials. You will note in Block 11 of the accident that only weighs 75 kg.

Due to my surprise at being pulled out of the ground so suddenly, I lost the presence of mind and forgot to release the rope. Needless to say, I climbed at an increasing speed toward the top of the tower. About seven meters high I found the bucket of tools and materials that came down. This explains the broken skull and broken neck.

Slightly slowed, I continued my rapid ascent, non-stop until the fingers of my right hand were two stumps inserted into the pulley. Fortunately, at this point my initial surprise had left me and I was strong enough not to let go of the rope despite my pain. This explains the multiple fractures of my right hand.

At about the same time, however, the tool bucket hit the ground and lay down, throwing most of the materials. Without the weight of them, the bucket now weighed 10 kilos. I refer again to Block 11 which refers to my weight. As you can imagine, I started a rather quick descent of the tower.

Again in the vicinity of seven meters, I found the remains of the bucket and materials that went up. This is the cause of the two fractured ankles and the wounds in my legs and in my noble parts.

The encounter with the barrel slowed me down enough to lessen my injuries when I hit the pile of materials on the floor and, fortunately, I just broke six vertebrae and four ribs.

I regret to report that when I fell between the materials and the tools, aching, unable to stand, and seeing the empty bucket 14 meters above me .... Again I lost the presence of spirit .... And I released the rope.

Painfully yours:
Eusebio González.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now