Uphill both ways in 10 inches of snow sweating like a madman

I was thinking today of the "one uppers" and how as much as they always come in different names, speak different languages and are wrapped in a variety of outfits but they are never too far away from any social circles.


oneupper.jpg

You know exactly who I'm referring to

As a matter of fact, the one upper might be behind you reading along. Be smart, don't turn around, don't look at him/her because if you do you will be in trouble, and that's not the goal here, we are simply having a little chat.

The funny thing about the "one uppers" is that for the most part we all get them, I mean... who doesn't want to win right? and you can make everything a nintendo game if you choose to I guess.

But you know what I don't get?

The need to win at losing, that part makes less sense. What am I talking about you ask? Well there are some "one uppers" who have elevated their CHI to some ridiculous levels to the point where they don't know anymore when its OK to dial it back by a couple of clicks.

Now this type of "one upper" is an enigma to most of us. Why would you want to race backwards to the start line after all?

We can only speculate

As to why our friend here would like to lose harder than you, but they key operational word here is speculate.

There might be a psychologist among our midst who is able to shed some light on the situation better than I ever could, so if you are reading this my new psychologist friend, please share... this one has been bugging me probably my whole life and I would like to know before the elevator hits 40.

Is it Attention?

I guess it could be that simple, after all there is not one of us who does not like to feel relevant, but if I was to leave it at that I would also have to say that "one uppers" are not smart enough to recognize good attention from bad, and most of the one's I've met don't seem to be mentally challenged.

Then again... How do we define Intelligence? I don't believe in IQ tests anyways, I took one a long time ago and I'm supposed to be a genius yet I'm painfully aware of my own intelectual limitations.

My father used to talk a lot about emotional intelligence

And it's a subject of much debate and one that truly fascinates me. We seem to think of someone who is intelligent as someone who is good with numbers, quick to learn new things and overall a repository of knowledge, of wisdom. But none of these traits can truly encapsulate intelligence at least not by themselves.

But maybe my father was on to something here, after all emotions are entangled with all of our decisions and there are even studies who prove without a doubt that without emotions we would not even be able to chose right over left. Think about that! if there was a little button the side of your head that turned off your feelings you would not make to Walmart at 2 am tonight, and we both know that's the best time to go for people watching. (I know you do it too, don't lie)

So what can we do?

I have not the slightest clue, this piece was not a solution to exterminate "one uppers" as I am not convinced they don't have a role to play in modern society, after all I would not be making this post if they didn't exist and this post could easily make a few SBD (wishful thinking) and at least for this reason I can say I'm grateful for their existence.

This does not mean that I want to be their friend, and I must be clear I guess. I just like to observe, ponder the WHY, while making a similar expression to Mr Mullet here on my dank gif animation.

You want to call them out?

I guess you could, but I will tell you this. It does not work, it never has, it never will they are wired to operate in this manner and if you call them out, they might reply something like - "Well... I see how it is... but you know what? ... You are not the only person to be mean to me like this, because so and so... "

You will be sitting there scratching your head asking yourself....

Did this guy just "one upped" me again????????

As always, thank you for reading... much love

meno logo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now