ā˜€ļø'cheesy' yellow cauli pasta šŸŒ¼ with fresh beet leaves salad

This is my entry for @veganwednesday held by the lovely @heart-to-heart

I'm always buying my food local, in season from small independent stores and this meal is no exception,

pasta3.jpg

I've never made a vegan cheese cauliflower sauce even though it's nothing new, i've seen it done quite a few times for the life of me I don't know why not. I guess I never craved it, maybe because the white cauliflowers I guess don't do it for me the same way as this yellow sunshine beauty right here....

yellowcauli.jpg

I was desperate to eat this dish and I had to take the pictures real quick, I wish I had got a better shot of the sauce because it was really yellow, something so inviting and appetizing about it.... oh well I guess i'm just going to have to make it again sometime soon!

pasta.jpg

I didn't know beetroot leaves were something you could just eat until recently after I saw @canadianrenegade post. It makes sense and I don't know how I completely over looked them before, I also needed to use the the leaves of celery which can be chopped finely like a herb or eaten in a salad. I added a few of my own homegrown salad leaves and because I was in a rush to get dinner done, I just sprinkled apple cider vinegar for the dressing and kept it simple!

beetsalad.jpg

I made the cauliflower sauce just by boiling water, adding a large white spring onion and a dash of olive oil, oregano and Himalaya salt and of course the yellow cauli. Once it was cooked, I drained off the water into another pan, and let the cauli cool down a bit before adding it to my blender where I added a bit of the stock water back into the mixer to soften the mixture aswell as a heaped spoon of nutritional yeast for a cheesier flavor, although the cauli sauce flavor alone is really good!

pasta2.jpg

I used wholegrain spelt pasta and added some sauteed green pepper and baby spring onion with toasted sunflower seeds on top of the pasta, I was going to add fresh basil leaves but I totally confused myself toward the end of cooking this it was about 9pm, I ended up adding my homegrown mibuza leaves which have a really nice decorative look to them.

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet can change your life and change the world
āœŒļøJoin the food revolution nowāœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now