A FRIEND INDEED

I met @onyinye-chi at work, from one of her post you can see she said she works as an intern at a radio station. I met her via a colleague, she was co-anchoring the pidgin programme and gosh she was loud (Ps. She still is loud) but I liked her. If you understand the nature of the broadcast/media job you’ll know that if you’re not sensible or bold your opinions will be thrown under the bus.

IMG_4742.jpeg

She worked late one night and asked to sleep over my place, it was abrupt but sure why not, before I knew it this anuty started barging into my space, it pissed me off because I was a very private person and I believed sharing a space should be occasional but this young lady kept on barging in till I started avoiding her or I’d just pretend I wasn’t in the room 😏 (I do that a lot).

IMG_6066.gif

Then one day I received a call from work telling me to prepare my room to welcome a roommate, WHAT !. I was pissed, I was upset and I thought is this what I get for being nice 🤣.
I set so many rules so I’d be able to pretend she was not there, but her kindness made it so hard for me to avoid her.
IMG_6066.gif
Just for a broader context I have anxiety been around people, my job didn’t make it easier, I always wanted to be in the shadows but unfortunately it wasn’t possible. I am not an introvert neither am I an extrovert , I would say I’m an ambivert. So been with a stranger was a lot to handle.

bd872432-47a8-4f79-a0f3-50a06e9a1f72.jpeg

Over time I came to appreciate this young lady who barge into my life, she has been my confidant, my friend, my gistmate and I love her dearly.
Thank you Esther for being you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments