freewrite for Saturday

and the prompt is: It was Saturday morning

20151223_121118.jpg
(I made this pair for my parents)

It was Saturday morning and I had just made coffee when the phone rang. It was my sister. "We're going to start a business," she said, "you paint and I'll sell your paintings. Paint new monsters." I have painted 2, 300 monsters in my life (and sculpted many more) but none recently. Also I like to paint them and give them away, to the people the monsters remind me of (they're happy monsters, mostly. I gave my sister and her husband a furry bride and groom as a wedding gift, ready for the monster's ball).

"Hmmm," I said, "will people actually buy them? What if suddenly I forget how to paint?"

"Stop worrying, just go stretch a canvas," she said, and hung up.

It's three hours later, I haven't stopped thinking about it and have been rolling a pencil in my hand for most of the day, which I seem to do before I start painting. Even if I can't paint today, thinking about monsters and lines and colors makes it a juicier day. No need to check the phone or watch mindless TV or give in to worry. Creation washes my mind clean.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now