5-minute freewrite Day 972 prompt: drummer

When I was in 6th grade I had a crush on a boy who was a drummer in the grade school band. He actually had a trap set, and could play rather well. I thought he was the cutest thing ever. He only attended our school that one year, though. Two years later I had a crush on another drummer, when I attended a different school. He was even cuter that the first one, and played the drums beautifully. Alas, he had a really cute girlfriend, one of the popular cheerleader-types, and it made me sick to see them wandering up and down the hall holding hands. He rarely ever spoke to me; I wasn't particularly pretty or fashionable and certainly not one of the popular girls.

I used to play the French horn when I was in school. I guess I played quite well, considering I had no private lessons. I was in All-State Band, and toured Europe with America's Youth in Concert. Then I was in an accident and lost my front teeth, and it has felt very strange to play the horn ever since then, with my bridgework. I really miss playing in a band. There is a community band not too far from where I live, and I have often wondered if I could become a drummer. I already know how to read music and all that; I'd just have to learn how to properly handle the drums. I bet I could do it if I really put my mind to it!

By the way, I've seen those two drummers at class reunions. The first one I liked has never grown very tall, but is still nice- looking, and pleasant. The second one remains tall and handsome, and he rode there on a motorcycle.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center