#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 116 - Canal

While backpacking through Europe in the Summer of 2014, I stopped in Venice, Italy. I got off the train and when I walked out of the station I immediately noticed the smell of the city on water. There were boats and bridges everywhere. Cobblestone layered the streets. I walked through narrow back alleys, and sat for lunch near the waterfront.

venice.jpg
Photo by Jack Ward on Unsplash

There were a lot of tourists and shops perusing the streets. I only stayed in the city for a few hours. I took a water taxi to really explore what the canals were like firsthand. I wanted to take a gondola ride but they charge an arm and a leg to ride in those.

I had some gelatto and chilled in a piazza where people and birds were scattered everywhere. Music was playing and construction was being done on a giant cathedral. It was peaceful and calm. I was by myself, but made friends with two girls who were also traveling. We exchanged stories then went our separate ways.

Venice.jpg

I rushed to catch the last bus out of Venice to go to the hostel I was meeting two other friends at. I met these two friends in Rome and they told me about the hostel and when to meet them. I arrived off blind faith and found their camp. This was my last night in Italy before heading to Switzerland.

In the morning I woke up and ate breakfast before leaving for the train station. My train was leaving at 9:30 and I left the hostel at 8:30. I showered and changed then hurried towards the train station. I remember running underneath a walkway and through a city that didn't have any street signs. I relied on my phone's map to get me there although I didn't have any cell phone service. I was searching for a bus stop that would take me to the train station. The bus was going to arrive in less than two minutes and I couldn't find it anywhere. In the midst of a panic attack, an old woman was riding her bike. I called out to her and frantically asked where the bus station was. She pointed one street over. I thanked her and ran to the bus stop. Mere moments later the bus pulls up and I breathe a sigh of relief knowing that I won't be stranded in this city.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 116) prompt is "canal". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now