#DailyFreeWriteChallenge: Day 111 - Dreams

I've been writing down my dreams in a journal for the past few months. Not consistently. But when I remember in the morning I jot down the crazy thoughts that come to mind. Sometimes I'm embarrassed by what I've dreamt about. You never know what your subconscious might come up with while you're sleeping.

There are times that I see people who I haven't thought about in years. Grouped together with other people who have no business being in the same room as each other. It's pretty crazy when you dream in places that you've never been before. How did I even come up with that place? Is it just a collection of memories that get morphed together and transform into something new and beautiful? Or maybe something new and terrifying. Or frightening.

dream.jpg
Photo by Andreas Wagner on Unsplash

When I was younger I had a reoccurring dreamt hat led me to waking up in hot sweats before getting ready for school. I dreamed that it was the apocalypse. It was up to me and my team of friends to save the world. I was a big power ranger fan growing up so I think that might have had an influence on what I was dreaming. So it was up to us to fight Lucifer and his demons. He would take my family hostage and sometimes I wasn't able to save them. That's a lot of pressure to put on the mind of a child. I don't know why I dreamt it.

One time, my mom and I were talking about my grandfather who passed away when I was a child. Papa. We had old jewelry of his that we were trying on. That night we both went to bed and had terrifying dreams of our parents passing away. I cant even begin to describe what happened in that dream. It was so vivid. So real.

I used to have dreams where I was falling off a bridge. Crashing down into a river surrounded by rocks from hundreds of feet in the air. I would fall forever until waking up right before hitting the ground.

bridge.jpg
Photo by Glen Jackson on Unsplash

I love to dream. I hate to get woken up in the middle of a dream because you're never quite sure if you'll be able to get back to it. Lucid dreaming has always been something that I was interested in. Maybe one day I'll be able to be in control of my dreams.


This post was written via The Most Dangerous Writing App in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest. Today's (Day 111) prompt is "Dreams". If you're curious about the #dailyfreewritechallenge, check out the introduction post here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now