Day 761: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: red light

For @mariannewest in @freewrite



Ten years ago or so I was in Amsterdam and visited Red Light District. And of course, I saw women standing in the show-windows in their bras and underpants. To tell you the truth this didn't impress me and if not for my wife I wouldn't even go there. Going with her was especially unpleasant because, despite the warning we've been given in the hotel, she still photographed them for good memory.

I guess this was done so that later on she could show it to her conservative girlfriends and together they could look at these photos and express their collective indignation "This is so horrible! How could they allow this?!"

A more interesting story about Red Light District I heard from a buddy of mine. One of his friends, who live in the Netherland, not only owns one of these shops but married one of the girls who worked there.

"Of course," he explained, "she doesn't do it anymore."

I recall reading Remarque's book "Three comrades" that he mentioned that the prostitute's dream is a matrimonial bed. Knowing a little about Remarque, I think one can trust his opinion on that issue. )

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now