Weekend Freewrite – The Spider

A fictional story written in five minutes. For more information see the post by @mariannewest here: Weekend Freewrite 4-28-2018

The house on the corner had always been the subject of gossip. I was the only one who knew the truth. I knew the truth because I was the one that lived there.

I kept to myself mostly, occasionally ordering pizza for delivery. Going to the store was an expedition in itself. I liked to wait until later in the night when things had settled down a bit. It was so much easier to shop without the crowds of people to distract me.

Things hid in the isles of the grocery store. Odd things. Things that you wouldn’t want to see too closely. They disappeared from view and hide in the shadows.

No one understood why the house on the corner grew cobwebs in the corners of the porch. A large spider grew there. The neighborhood kids came by one time to ask if they could have it.

I knew the fate of a spider trapped in a jar. It felt so sad. So sad to be away from its friends. I looked at the kids and tried to persuade them that the spider would like to stay where it was.

The next day the spider was gone. The web was in tatters.

I didn’t matter so much I suppose. It was only a spider and perhaps the kids would enjoy their new friend.

spider.jpg
These spiders love to peacefully cohabitate all over the house – click for viewing full screen


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The picture was taken by me with my Galaxy S7.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now