Day 259: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: sell-out (my day 6)

Sell-out...

Sometimes I feel like a sell-out, buying votes and selling votes through smart-steem. But why not, no harm right?? Short term, It serves my purposes, I can increase the payout on my posts by buying votes. I tend to use the SBD earnings to reinvest in votes for my new posts. STEEM earned is used to power up or to buy steembasicincome shares.

But selling votes on smart-steem - that is just selling-out isn't it. At the moment, my vote isn't worth much so it doesn't feel like I am hurting anyone. A few fractions of a cent worth of votes sold, no harm no foul. But will I still do it when my vote actually means something, when it is actually worth something. Probably not. Once my vote is meaningful, rather than just symbolic, I hope to use it to support people that have supported me, and to vote on quality posts I come across. The thing with selling votes is that you don't get a say in what it goes on.

So for now, It doesn't really worry me, my vote is worth less than dust so whatever. But as I grow and build my SP here, I will stop being a sell-out and reserve my vote for those that deserve it, either from quality posts or for helping me along the way.

I don't have a big issue with buying votes, I am only investing some of my previous post payouts back in the system. Better that than taking a payout and converting out of SBD. That would only contribute to a dropping price. Keeping my earnings in the system works for me for now.

A little over 5 mins but oh well.

sold out.png
Source: pixabay

This is a short opinion piece written for @mariannewest 5 minute freewrite challenge. Check her feed out to get involved, you may find you have more creativity than you realise - I did.

For those following, I have extended my "The Piano" posts into the start of a bigger story. Check it out and let me know what you think: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jk6276/the-piano-part-1-2-and-3--fiction-by-jk6276

20% of this posts payout is nominated to go to @crypto.charity to support their work. Please also consider ways you can lend a hand.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center