Oversleeping (Freewrite Prompt: Oversleep)

I hadn't slept this well in months.

I was not uncomfortable. Actually, my bed seemed to be the most comfortable thing that I have ever been in. However that might just be my sleepy mind being dramatic. I was not too hot and not too cold. Usually when I fall asleep I'm either boiling in my skin or shaking like a leaf. No in between. Like baby bear's porridge the temperature seemed to be just right. The birds were also sing to me a lullaby type song. It was peaceful.

Wait-- birds singing? They only sing in the mornings, right?

I bolt upright and frantically search for my phone, causing me to get tangled up in my blanket.

"Crap!" The clock reads 9:12, in the morning. I've overslept.

I race to the bathroom and quickly splash some water onto my face, not having enough time to actually brush my teeth so I just squirt a small amount of toothpaste onto my tongue and call it good. Jogging to the closet I toss my hair into a messy bun and grab my work clothes and throw them on. Struggling to put on my shoes I grab my keys and I head out the door, down the stairs of my apartment and to my car.

God, I hate oversleeping.


Thank you to @mariannewest for the freewrite prompt!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center