What Solutions Are You Implementing Today?

2021-09-24-183206.jpeg

Some of us a believe we are living in uncertain times. Question is what to do about it, today?


A year ago you could not go to the store and buy toilet paper. The monetary systems of multiple countries are inflating at an alarming rate. Prices are rising for everything from milk to construction materials and land.

Opinions vary on the size and shape of the problem. Some foresee civil unrest, utilities getting hacked, food supply disruptions, or hyperinflation. Others foresee rising unemployment, widespread illness, market volatility, or inaccessible healthcare.

If there is a problem, there has to be a solution. Even if there is no problem, some of us still want to build our lives in such a way as to be unaffected by turmoil in society and the world.

Question:

What are you actually doing
What solutions are you implementing today

Note: If you are not familiar with counter-economy, it is the idea of building solutions outside of the mainstream. If none of this applies to you, take it as encouragement to set your own goals and build them.

Actions I have been taking in the last 7 days:

Becoming more minimalist

  • I made a list of things to either sell, return, or give away

Increasing my income

  • I have a second regular compensatory activity now
  • I may be asking my business partner to give me more working days
  • Talked with a friend about side hustles to diversify my income

Reducing distractions

  • I am going to go on an unsubscribe spree
  • Reduced notifications on my phone
  • Stopped habit of scrolling through feeds

Getting off-grid

  • I bought off Facebook Marketplace two jump starter batteries for my automobile, now I can run my 12v powered cooler as part of my goal to be off-grid by default
  • Going to get a hotspot with unlimited data plan; I'll be able to sit anywhere and do laptop work, possibly for compensation

Food security

  • I just went to a food bank and got a trunk-full of food
  • I organized my canned food into totes labeled with expiration year

Crypto

  • Went to a crypto meetup last week
  • Posted in a private group that I am buying crypto
  • Talked with a friend about ways to start a business and get paid in crypto

Acquiring land

  • Charted my savings and calculated how much I will need saved before being able to take out a crypto loan
  • Studied crypto loans and found the loan to collateral ratio is usually 50%, so I will need to save double what I want to "spend" at 90% APY recovering the borrowed amount should be easy

Tech

  • Purchased an M.2 512 GB SSD and am going to run my laptop from it externally, so my encrypted drive is always on me and my laptop's built-in drive just has a dummy Windows 7 install
  • Going to switch to Qubes OS, which does compartmentalization better than how I am currently running Windows as a guest of Linux
  • Going to get rid of my iOS devices and use just GrepheneOS or CalyxOS on tablets so I am carrying around no cellular antennas at all except for burner/emergency phone and hotspot
  • Going to switch all my servers to Linux over the next six months

Read more from Freedom Foundation:

https://peakd.com/@foundation595

 - Foundation595
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center