Why I got caught up in becoming a Leeds fan

Perhaps my choice of team was inevitable born in Leeds and having a family who also predominately followed them,maybe my mind was made up for me.Some say football is a way of life,when I was 5 or 6 I might have been heading in that direction,my love for the game has since diminished from those days,I would say my acknowledgment of whats going on and who plays for who is just really not relevant to me much.

However I guess I cant never fully turn my back on the days of playing in the school play ground,i was always the donkey could run a bit but was best at doing the jobs nobody else wanted to do i.e win the ball which is definitely a underrated role in today's game and i certainly cant turn my back on following Leeds even though i dont exactly go out of my way to go to a game unless I get a freebie or will i make sure im free to listen to games on a weekend.

I think the thing that keeps me interested though is the unique times I have had as a Leeds fan,I`ve seen them although I can only just recall it win the last first division championship, remember them winning a charity shield with a cantona hat trick, traveled to witnessed them play at wembley although that certainly did not got well,and seen them almost win the champions league.To seeing them bottom of the 3 tier and in administration I guess ultimately I see them as a misunderstood club,that have definitely had more than their fair share of bad luck,but that bad luck has only made the club and its supporters more proud and passionate,which in a strange way reminds me of myself,which if that a parallel I see them doing big things again

I remember seeing and talking to a Leeds fan in new york,coming across a ex Sunderland fan turned Leeds supporter,on the day that Sunderland famously defeated Leeds in the FA cup final,but his reasoning was he just loved how Leeds played,their are lots of little memories I have and could go on about,and its these reasons why as much as my love for football has decreased,and perhaps my interest in following Leeds had also decreased it will never fully go.leeds united.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now