Preparing To Cook Purple Yam Rice Cake

Hello my friends,

Tomorrow will be the town fiesta in Mabalacat where my parents live. I bought some ingredients for a kalame ube. This is a rice cake made with purple yam. Ube is how we call it in the Philippines and is a popular ingredient for making sweet treats.
image.png
Here the purple yam is being boiled until they are ready to be mashed manually.
image.png
I will let my husband do the cooking and tomorrow will bring it to my parents as my contribution for the feast. This is the sticky rice which is also an important ingredient in making almost any Filipino sweet delicacy.
image.png
I do not cook this kind of food because they require much of physical strength like stirring constantly by hand for longer hours to achieve that nice consistency. That explains why husband had always been the one tasked to cook such kind of food. This is coconut milk.
image.png
Sugar and that yellow thing not sure what it is LOL. We will be a bit busy so that will be it for now .

Until next post,
Gus

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency