Vegan Chilli - ruined at the end.

My youngest loves a bean chilli and I've been promising her one for the past week. I had a little more time yesterday with it being Saturday and it was perfect for preparing and then keeping warm. My wife has been told she has to shield so I had to dash out at teatime to collect the groceries. This did just the ticket.

I used a few peppers, an onion, two sticks of celery and two large carrots. I started softening the peppers first as I wanted them to colour a little for sweetness. I lobbed the rest in after about 7 minutes and fried for a further 5 or so, with a few chopped cloves of garlic.

IMG_2970.jpg

In with cumin, smoked paprika, oregano and mild chilli powder. I'd usually use hot but youngest wouldn't have appreciated that! About 1.5 teaspoons of each.

IMG_2971.jpg

Then in with a vegetable stock cube made up to .5 of a litre with a heaped teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa powder, and a tin of chopped tomatoes and a tin each of kidney and black beans. Then to simmer for 15 mins. I put a good handful of fresh chopped coriander in for the last few minutes. To thicken the sauce, I removed a few ladles and blitzed in the blender before returning to the pan.

IMG_2973.jpg

Made a bit of a mess serving as I spilt the sauce everywhere! Served with sliced avocado and a dollop of sour cream.

IMG_2976.jpg

We only used about a third so the rest was vacuum packed and put in the freezer. It seems to store really well and if anything is slightly better the second time around. I'll likely add a little lime juice and fresh coriander.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency