Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 02 #09 : Tropical Fruit Salad for Minimalists (Raw+Vegan)

If you’ve seen only a few of my posts here on Steemit, you might know that I am a big fan of fruits. Let it be bananas, pineapple, mangos, dragonfruit or blueberries - I adore them all! So this week’s theme is a bit overwhelming for me, how to choose single items from my favorite fruit group to make a salad, since I am already super excited about the sole taste of every one of them?  

Well, I figured keeping it simple is the best way to let the fruity flavors shine for itself. 

For me, a fruit salad doesn’t need any creamy dressing or crunchy toppings and especially no additional sweetness. Nevertheless, in the kitchen as well as in life, I get bored by all creamy and sweet, so I played around with the textures and flavor nuances instead. 

Sweet and soft papaya, juicy pineapple with its distinct texture, fresh and crunchy guava and not to forget the candy-like, creamy banana. The mint leaves add some further lightness to the salad and to balance the rich sweetness, I sprinkled some lemon juice on top. This way a plain fruit salad becomes an adventurous ride.  

  • pineapple 
  • papaya 
  • guava 
  • banana 
  • mint leaves 
  • lemon juice

My fruity mixture probably gives you a hint that I am in the tropics right now, Malaysia to be exact. The produce I used is mostly from a nearby farm and grew without the use of any chemical pesticides, under the love and care of a very considerate farmer. 

We had the pleasure to get to know him and he even gave us a tour around one of his farms last weekend, where we learned so much about all his farming techniques and the perks of various banana varieties and types of pineapple. Nowadays, we rarely know where our food actually comes from and it was really liberating for me to see how my daily fruit meals get ripe and juicy in a very natural way. 

I hope that you also value the amazing flavors of simple fruits and that the natural colors of these beauties make your taste buds get excited. It’s summer in the Northern hemisphere and right now there’s just no better way to fuel yourself with all the fresh produce that is flooding the markets. Enjoy nature’s best!

---

Have a wonderful day and a fruitful journey ahead! 

Yours, Anais 

Nomadic adventuress since 2018 | Raw foodie | Health enthusiast | Minimalist | Freedom seeker | Passionate believer in a life full of bliss.

🍓Hungry for some more healthy nuggets? Check out my raw vegan posts:

🌟Explore your full potential, with my health and lifestyle posts:

🗺 Time for some more adventures - follow me around the world:    

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency