Who Made It Best! My Wife Or Shared Food? A Food Face Off! Jalapeno Popper Casserole

 Let me get this out of the way first, so the steemit patrol doesn't break bad on me!  This recipe came from Shared.com but the photos are mine. Check the link here:

 http://www.shared.com/whip-up-a-quick-and-easy-dinner-tonight-with-this-jalapeno-popper-cass-1957456548.html

The difference here is that we are going to make this recipe at home and see who made it better! So let's be off shall we?

The Recipe:  Jalapeno Popper Casserole 

Now my wife is a great cook, just look at my waistline! Every now and again she throws out the normal fare when she finds something on facebook, and Oh how I love those days!

She ran across this little gem and when she told me about it, I almost had a conniption fit! You see, my one weakness, my one true weakness is a big ole steaming plate of jalapeno poppers. I could eat dang near my weight in them. So when she said she was making jalapeno popper casserole I dang near fell out. 

So here it is, possibly the greatest piece of literature known to mankind!

Again, this recipe is from Shared.com see link above!

 Jalapeno Popper Casserole 

 Ingredients:

  • 2 - 8 oz packages of cream cheese, softened at room temperature.
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups Mexican Cheddar Jack Shredded Cheese, divided
  • 1 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 6 Jalapeno Peppers seeded and diced
  • 1 - 2 lb. bag of tater tots
  • 6 green onions, thinly sliced

Directions:Preheat oven to 425 degrees.Line a casserole dish with tater tots. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. 

While your tots are baking, go ahead and throw your bacon in a skillet and cook it till it crumbles.

Ok I got put in charge of the bacon for just a second, it's still good though!

Chop up your peppers and onions, then mix that with the cream cheese, a cup and a half of your shredded cheese and mix in half of your bacon that you cooked, along with half of your sliced green onions.

Then when your tots are done, slather this creamy cheesy mixture over them. Of course my wife has to do it her way!Bonus Ingredient! I don't know if I mentioned that my wife likes to add a little lagniappe ever now and again! So she shredded some chicken that she had over the top of the tater tots, then the creamy goodness!

By the way, for you non-coonass types, lagniappe means a little something extra..pronounced lanyap! See you learned something new on steemit today!

Once you get that layered up, you want to sprinkle you leftover cheese, green onions and bacon over the top and the toss that in the oven at 425 for 15 to 20 minutes. 

After that, it's gorge yourself time! Man this is good stuff, but if you are health conscious, you should probably go get a smoothie recipe from @papa-pepper


So there you have it!

Who did it better? I Don't know how theirs came out, but ours was umm umm good! 

This would be a great dish to take to a party or cookout, or just have it one night for supper, you can't go wrong with it!



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now