French Style Pork Stew...

french style pork stew.png

When I look for things to make for dinner, I choose a meat preference and then search via images... if the image appeals to me, I will go and look at the recipe. In this case... THIS was the image that caught my attention and enthusiasm!

2.png

Now, the ingredients and the process was rather similar, but as usual - I did my own take on it for various reasons.... ingredient availability, taste preferences, dietary choices and so on. So this is what I concocted.... haha!

This is what went into my version:

Two packs of stewing pork
About a handful of shaved ham
Approx. 10 baby carrots sliced julienne style
Approx. 4 mini celery sticks diced
A pack of cubed sweet potato
One peeled and halved onion
Half a cabbage
A pack of micro herbs with coriander.
A bunch of parsley, lemon thyme and a bay leaf.

3.jpg

Firstly, I put about a litre of water and then another litre of chicken stock into a pot and added the stewing pork, the halved onion, the bay leaf, the lemon thyme and the parsley. I brought this to a gentle simmer and removed the "scum" that had developed on the surface of the water with a spoon. Once that was done, I placed the lid on the pot and popped it into the oven for about 1.5 hrs at 160 degrees Celsius.

4.jpg

Then I removed it from the oven, added the sliced carrots and sweet potato cubes, some salt and pepper and then placed it back in the oven for another 25 minutes.

5.jpg

6.jpg

Then I removed it from the oven once again and added the sliced cabbage. Yes, it may appear to be "too much" cabbage... but trust me, it cooks down to nothing, so go wild! haha

7.jpg

as you can seeeeeeeee..... lol

8.jpg

9.jpg

Then I threw the shaved ham in... popped it back into the oven, lowered the heat to 50 degrees and that was that! I left it like that for a couple of hours until we were ready to eat. It was REALLY a wonderful dish of comfort food and made a really nice change from the traditional type stews that are served with a carb of some kind (rice or potatoes). It was much lighter. All I did when serving it was added a sprinkling of the micro herbs on top.

That little punch of coriander (cilantro / Dhanya) every other mouthful was just GORGEOUS!

10.jpg

11.jpg

If you do decide to give it a go, I would love to hear your feedback and thoughts!

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steemit platform and beyond.

text15.png

IF THIS IS TAGGED AS A PHOTOGRAPHY POST, ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency