BLACK BEAN AND LENTIL CHILI (QUICK & EASY) Food Photo Shoot & Recipe

Hey Steemains, It’s Sunday which means we need to go out with a bang. How about some Autumn flavor?!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.

In recent years, my family has become huge fans of Chili. Now that we live in Chile, we love having chili in Chile :-). My parents and older siblings have always liked chili, but my younger siblings have not liked it up until recently. So as result, I did not make it that often. But now, it’s a household favorite so I am always trying to put a little spin or tweak to it here and there.

We like to serve it with cornbread. I will share the recipe for the cornbread in a later post, sorry can’t promise when that will be, but soon. This chili is great served over the cornbread. And, that’s another thing, cornbread can be made in all kinds of crazy ways and of course that will dramatically effect your chile.

Today, I wanted to share with you guys a quick and easy recipe for a really hearty chili, the stick to your ribs kind. And simultaneously, it has a lot of hearlthy properties to it as well. I hope you try it YOU’LL THANK ME LATER.

RECIPE

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour

Yield: 12 servings

Ingredients

2 lbs meat of your choice (ground beef, chicken, pork or turkey)
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1-2 jalepeno peppers, minced
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained
2 8-ounce cans tomato sauce
2 cups cooked red lentils
2 cups cooked black beans
2 1/2 tablespoons worchestershire
2 teaspoons liquid smoke
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon oregeno
1 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper to taste
shredded cheese, cilantro, and sour cream for serving (optional)

Instructions

A. Brown the meat of your choice in a skillet.
B. Drain and set aside. Add oil, onion, garlic, and peppers to skillet and cook until softened.
C. Combine all other ingredients in a large enough pot with 2 cups of water.
D. Add sautéed veggies and bring to a boil.
E. Reduce heat to low and add meat.
F. Simmer uncovered, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes to 1 hour until thickened.
G. Serve hot and if you like, topped with sour cream, cilantro, and shredded cheese.

Cilantro is really one of the key ingredients here, try not to miss it


AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center