When Artworks Meet Movies and Popculture

Not that long ago I shared the amazing pixel art TV shows by Gustavo Viselner. Being somebody who constantly looks for new discoveries of cool, awesome, and often also geeky stuff I also love to share the awesome stuff I tend to run into when surfing the Internet tubes.

That's right, I visit websites. I don't let Crackbook curate what I am not supposed to see because it could conflict with my own views. I open my browser, visit websites, subscribe to a bunch of (hopefully) awesome curated newsletters and every day click on hundreds and hundreds of links.

Which is awesome because often it leads to stuff one would love to share with the rest of the world. Like the superb Jelly Mario Bros.

takaoka-keith-haring-tarantino.jpg
Move those legs... and hips

Today's artsy discovery is the work of Japanese designer Shusaku Takaoka who focuses mostly on combining known artworks with pop culture or movie scenes.

Who doesn't love a great mashup?

For this post highlighting his awesome remixes, I selected works combining art with the work of Quentin Tarantino from Shusaku Takaoka's Instagram

takaoka-mia-lisa.jpg
The Mia Lisa

takaoka-gogo-yubari.jpg
Mona again, slightly younger and more energetic this time as Gogo Yubari

takaoka-reservoir-dogs.jpg
Who doesn't love a great reconciliation at the end?

Bonus Picture

While normally I wouldn't show more than 3 or 4 pieces of art, mashups to respect the Fair Use spirit, this time I'm making an exception and showcasing highlighting one more artcollage from Takaoka's Instagram portfolio.

Because I can it is too good not to share.

takaoka-vampire-tarantino.jpg

All images in this post © Shusaku Takaoka. Visit his Instagram profile for many more and also mashups with more popculture focus.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now