Reasons Not to Selfvote Your Posts

Steemit Open mic (contest) community founder @luzcypher explains in this long post why he stopped upvoting his own posts.

image.png

Image by and borrowed from @luzcypher. PS: there’s a typo in your watermark, @luzcypher!

As often happens with that type of posts, and the title gives away, it all starts with a confession:

Usually, I would not upvote my own comments but did upvote my own posts. I reasoned that if I don't value my own posts why should anyone else find value in it. Back when my Steem Power was so small, my thinking was any vote was a good vote, even if it was my own, but as I started developing a following my thinking has changed.

Why I highlight Luzcypher’s post though, aside from the obvious insight, is that their post is an honest read. An honest share.

At no point do they take an elitist position, climb their community leader pedestal, instead their post reads almost as freewrite. No, I don’t mean an incoherent ramble, just an honest read.

I'm doing alright on Steemit and have found that the more I give to others the more I receive in return. It doesn't always work out that way each week, but for the most part, my following keeps growing with each passing week and although a lot of my followers are minnows, those same minnows will one day grow up to be dolphins and their voting power will grow along with them.

One of the most important things Luzcypher highlight is not to expect anything but to be consistent when sharing:

Reciprocity is a curious thing. Being the first to give does not guarantee people will return the gesture, but being consistent with your support will eventually get noticed and attracts genuine support from others.

Genuine, voluntary support sticks with you as you build your account. It is slower than using bots, but it is real and builds a lasting community of mutually supportive people.

Head over to @luzcypher’s great post and read all their reasons why they stopped upvoting themselves.

separator

Hey there, this is @FknMayhem's alt account.

Here I mostly tumbl (resteem with added commentary and attitude or snark, a form of advanced curation Steem doesn't offer), zapp, post to forums, and submit other miscellaneous mischief. The latter which may or may not include more personal content.

There may be days it can be noisy around here, follow at your own risk. Alternatively, follow my attempts at more in-depth own content on my main account, @FknMayhem.

I am also on zeh Titter. Feel free to pitch me your worthy suggestions there. But make them worth my time, please. A SteemAuto curation trail can be joined here (must be logged in) to support and upvote all great content found and curated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now