Stainless Steel Homemade Gun plans

jQHug4c9bJbj_640x360.jpg

If I were to ask what could an 8 inch by 7 inch piece of stainless steel be used for...you might say paperweight, bookend, or doorstop. There would be few that replied with Home Defense.

0326191925.jpg
8inch X7inch X 1/4" piece of Stainless steel. Short of throwing how could it be used for home defense?

I recently ordered a couple of sets of plans from Serbu Firearms and while I don't plan on using this chunk of steel for home defense, I could if I wanted to. You see this chunk of 1/4 inch steel with these plans will turn into a single shot firearm that is legal in most states to build and own. Armed with no more than a Dremel rotary tool and some time I
plan on making one of these as a conversation piece.

The plans are instructions on how to build a GB-22 pistol. The GB stands for "gun buyback". In some areas, police will host a gun buyback where they ask for citizens to bring firearms in and the citizens are paid for the guns that are brought in. Mark Serbu creator of the GB22 had this in mind.

A functioning pistol that could be built from some steel, in a home garage with simple hand tools such as a hacksaw or file could be sold at a gun buyback for cash. A pistol such as this could also be used for hunting, home defense or a Ghost gun if one was worried about weapons seizures.

gb-22-frame-394x300.jpg GB22 frame in progress

The gun operates on a slam fire principal. The slide is pulled to the rear and a cartridge is loaded. When the trigger is pulled the slide releases and slams forward into the primer firing the bullet.

I thought some of the Anarchists on here might be interested.

For my project I plan on making a larger caliber than a .22. To build a .380 (9mm short) the frame needs to be made slightly heavier but the same principals are used. I am attaching a video link that shows a .22 build and a larger .380 build. The maker of the .380 built the entire weapon with hand tools only and used no power tools at all. The maker of the .22 caliber used CNC machinery. Both function well and look well made.

Mark Serbu's GB-22

Ecco Machine's GB-380 Suppressed (8 or 9 hours build time)

I do have an extra set of plans that I paid for if anyone is interested.
If you have built one of these or something like these please comment, let me know what you think and also let me know if you have any tips.

These are legal to build as long as you do not have felonies, other restrictions from owning firearms and do not plan on selling/giving them to others. Once built the firearm has to remain the property of the builder to be legal.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now