Playing FFI on iOS: Let's Get This Party Started

For years, I've had this guilt weighing on me in regards to Final Fantasy. I call myself a fan and I'm generally fond of the franchise, but I feel that fondness in the same way that I imagine grandparents who only see their grandchild once to twice are fond of their kin.

You love'em, right?? That's your grandkid!! But do you really know'em?!

That's it! No more! It's time I got to know my grandchild...

Starting with the first one...

IMG_0227.PNG

Immediately, I am hit with the decision to name my characters. WHAT? Why did I think this was only a feature that was made available in later games?

IMG_0228.PNG

I refuse to come up with anything myself so I google it, lol. The Warrior is Zesuto, the Thief is Zauba, the White Mage is Furo, and the Black Mage is Daewoo. I'm glad I googled before using the auto-name feature because this game was about to name Zesuto Leo. Like, come on.

I start the game and immediately move into the woods to start grinding because I am all about that life. Things are going fine until Zesuto’s hp drains all the way down to 5 and so I decide to run back to the castle to progress the story.

At the castle, I make my way toward the king and he is all mad impressed by me and my crew being Warrior of Light or whatever.

DFFEAB1B-7F5B-426D-805F-418B49A47A45.jpeg

OMG!! The Warriors of Light! The Colours! Blue Tank! Green Healer! Red DPS! Yellow...something.... This motif keeps coming up in FFXIV. It all makes sense now! Recognising this connection has been my favourite thing so far.

Anyway, so the king begs us to go and save his daughter Sarah from the ex-warrior of the king, Garland. Hey, I recognise that name! Also, what the fack, you want me to rescue your kid but you ain't about to hook a fancy up with some potions n'ish?? Um?? Why wouldn't you go out of your way to ensure my victory?? Sell the cloak off your back and get me some proper equipment to rescue your baby, maybe?? Dad of the Year, everyone!!

After leaving the castle with my hurt feelings, I decide to go out and grind some more, forgetting that Zesuto was close to death and immediately losing him in the first round of attacks. To add insult to injury, all of his teammates started levelling up around him. I decide to restart the save and go to the shops to buy spells, gears, and weapons since the king is too cheap to do it himself.

Things are much cheaper in the shops than I expect them to be! I walk into town with 507 gil and get almost everyone weapons and spells and other goodies for about 360.

"Time to stock up on potions," I say to myself.

LOL WRONG.

Potions cost 40 GIL all up in this joint. Phoenix Downs cost 500.

WhiteGuyBlinkingMAIN.gif

500??? OMG!! When will I ever be able to afford this? OMG I am so poor!! JUST like in real life...

This is a bit disheartening. I buy one potion and go my sorry way, back into the woods, where I keep Zesuto alive long enough for everyone to level up...

Till next time~!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center